Faculty Affiliate Program

The Faculty Affiliate Program at Middlebury attempts to foster a better understanding of the mission and application of intercollegiate athletics at Middlebury, and how athletics supports the College’s educational mission. The program recruits faculty members from a variety of academic disciplines who volunteer to spend time with various teams.

The objectives:

  • To enhance communication between faculty and students, and provide additional mentoring resources for student-athletes.
  • To provide faculty members with a more complete understanding of the mission and application of intercollegiate athletics, and enhance their awareness of the responsibilities of Middlebury student-athletes.

The list of Faculty Affiliates and their respective teams may be found below.

For more information on the Faculty Affiliate Program, contact Martin Beatty via e-mail at beatty@middlebury.edu or call him at 802-443-5956.

List of Faculty Affiliates

Fall Sports

Men's Cross Country: Steve Viner, Philosophy
Women's Cross Country:
Diane Munroe, Environmental Studies
Field Hockey: Emily Proctor, Mathematics
Football: Dave West, Geology; Alison Stanger, Political Science; Pete Ryan, Geology; Hector Vila, Writing
Men's Soccer: David Dorman, Mathematics
Women's Soccer: Jeremy Ward, Biology
Men's Tennis: Leger Grindon, Film & Media Culture
Women's Tennis: Molly Costanza-Robinson, Environmental Studies/Chemistry & Biochemistry; Leticia Arroyo Abad, Economics Volleyball: Stephen Oster, Chemistry

Winter Sports

Men's Basketball: Peter Ryan, Geology
Women's Basketball: Jay Parini, English
Women's Ice Hockey: Matt Longman, Dean of Wonnacott Commons; Jeff Dunham, Physics
Alpine Skiing: Robert Prasch, Economics
Nordic Skiing: Bill McKibben, Environmental Studies
Men's & Women's Squash: Ian Barrow, History
Swimming & Diving: David Dorman, Mathematics; Jessica Holmes, Economics
Indoor Track & Field: Matt Kimble, Psychology; Deb Evans, American Studies; Steven Viner, Philosophy


Spring Sports

Baseball: Karl Lindholm, American Literature & Civilization
Men's Lacrosse: Peter Nelson, Geography
Women's Lacrosse: Gregg Humphrey
Softball: Paul Sommers, Economics
Track & Field: Matt Kimble, Psychology; Deb Evans, American Studies

Club Sports

Rugby: Carlos Velez, Psychology; Mike McKenna, Communications