Senior Athletes Receive Awards

May 24, 2004

5/24/04 - Middlebury College recently recognized six seniors with its annual Athletic Awards at a senior luncheon. The following were recipients of the awards:

A. Bayard Russ '66 Memorial Athletic Award

Honoring, when merited, that senior who is most outstanding in two intercollegiate sports by best exemplifying the excellence of performance, aggressiveness, leadership, tremendous desire and team spirit of A. Bayard Russ '66.

Rebecca Brakeley (Middlebury, Vt.) - Field Hockey, Lacrosse

Charley Howe (Darien, Conn.) - Football, Lacrosse

Deborah Parton Memorial Award

For exemplifying the spirit and of dedication of Deb Parton

Missy Krempa (Johnstown, N.Y.) - Field Hockey

John P. Stabile Memorial Trophy

Awarded annually to the male athlete who best exemplifies the Middlebury Spirit.

Craig Pittman (Atlanta, Ga.) - Football, Track

Mike Wilson Trophy (These two awards were presented to underclassmen)

Awarded, when merited, to the Middlebury athlete, who, while overcoming personal challenge, has shown such spirit, enthusiasm and unselfish devotion to the members of the team that is has been an inspiration in creating team morale.

Heather Wende (Moonachie, N.J.) - Women's Hockey

Chris Fraser (Brooklyn, N.Y.) - Baseball

Hazeltine-Klevenow Memorial Trophy

For best combining ability in athletics and excellence in scholarship.

Lizzy DeWitt (Madison, Wis.) - Swimming

Patrick Saunders (Morristown, N.J.) - Soccer