2008-09 Year In Review - Second In Director's Cup

June 22, 2009

Middlebury College has finished second in the Learfield Sports Director's Cup race for the second straight season. The Panthers earned their sixth consecutive top-five finish, including four second place finishes. Williams won the cup, they were followed by Middlebury, Amherst in third and Tufts in 10th place to represent NESCAC schools. Points for the cup are awarded based on excellence in NCAA Tournament play.

The fall began with the school earning its 29th NCAA Championship as the women's cross country team accomplished the feat for the fifth time. Terry Aldrich was named the National Coach of the Year, while Alexandra Krieg earned her third straight top 10 finish at the NCAA's. The men's soccer team made its ninth consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament, falling in the sectional finals. Goalkeeper Brian Bush was named the NESCAC Player of the Year, also garnering All-American status for the second year in a row. The Panther field hockey squad finished the season at 14-4, earning its sixth straight NCAA Tournament appearance.

The men's basketball team enjoyed its best season in school history, going 24-4 en route to its first NESCAC Championship. The Panthers hosted the tourney in a jam-packed Pepin Gym, as they made their second straight NCAA Tournament appearance. NESCAC Player of the Year Ben Rudin became the school's first-ever All-American. The ski team earned an eighth place finish at the NCAA's, as alpine racer Andrew Wagner became a five-time All-American after accomplishing the task twice in '09. Nordic competitor Simeon Hamilton also earned All-American honors twice in '09.

The women's hockey team won its fifth NESCAC title before hosting the final four in Kenyon Arena. The men's squad advanced to the NESCAC title game, while the men's and women's squash teams place 17th and 13th respectively at nationals. Emily McDonald earned All-American honors for the women's swim team, while Kevin O'Rourke broke three school records with five top-five finishes at NESCAC's. On the track, Kaitlyn Saldanha earned All-American honors in both the indoor and outdoor seasons in the 800 meter race.

The spring saw both lacrosse teams continue to excel, as the women made their 16th straight NCAA Tournament appearance. The men's team appeared in the tourney for the 12th straight year, advancing to the semifinal round. Mike Stone was named the NESCAC Player of the Year for the second straight season, while becoming a three-time All-American.

The men's tennis team won its fifth NESCAC title, earning them their eighth straight trip to the NCAA's. NESCAC Player of the Year Conrad Olson led the team to the quarterfinal round, before advancing to the semifinals in the individual competition to earn All-American honors. The Panther women made their sixth trip to the tourney, led by NESCAC Rookie of the Year and All-American, Victoria Aiello.

The golf teams both had impressive seasons, as the men captured their third NESCAC crown to earn them a second trip to the NCAA's. The women's squad made their third trip to the NCAA Tournament, finishing eighth overall. Enjoy the summer and we'll look forward to more updates in the fall.

For more information on the Directors' Cup, see the link below: