Senior Athletic Awards Announced

June 21, 2011

Middlebury College recently recognized eight seniors with its annual Athletic Awards on May 19th. The following were recipients of the awards: 

A. Bayard Russ ’66 Memorial Athletic Award
Honoring, when merited, that senior who is most outstanding in two intercollegiate sports by best exemplifying the excellence of performance, aggressiveness, leadership, tremendous desire and team spirit of A. Bayard Russ ‘66.
Donald McKillop (Poway, Calif.) – Football/Baseball
Sally Ryan (Mountain Lakes, N.J.) – Field Hockey/Lacrosse
Annie Rowell (Craftsbury, Vt.) – Soccer/Track

Deborah Parton Memorial Award
For exemplifying the spirit and of dedication of Deb Parton
Julia Ireland (Greenwich, Conn.) – Women’s Hockey

John P. Stabile Memorial Trophy
Awarded annually to the male athlete who best exemplifies the Middlebury Spirit.
Harrison Watkins (San Francisco, Calif.) – Men’s Soccer

Mike Wilson Trophy
Awarded, when merited, to the Middlebury athlete, who, while overcoming personal challenge, has shown such spirit, enthusiasm and unselfish devotion to the members of the team that is has been an inspiration in creating team morale.
Tasha Woodworth (Carlisle, Mass.) – Alpine Skiing

Hazeltine-Klevenow Memorial Trophy
For best combining ability in athletics and excellence in scholarship.
Jim Levins (Rutland, Vt.) – Golf/Nordic Skiing
Whitney Bean (Waukee, Iowa) - Volleyball


(L-R): Sally Ryan, Julia Ireland, Donald McKillop, Jim Levins, Annie Rowell, Harrison Watkins and Tasha Woodworth (absent from photo: Whitney Bean).