February 22, 2010

The Panther women's swimming & diving team placed third overall as they hosted the 2010 NESCAC Championship. Williams won the event with 1,954 points, followed by Amherst (1,376), Middlebury (1,148) and Tufts (1,070.5). Sophomore diver Megan Collins (Darien, Conn.) won the 3M event (442.35-pool record), while finishing second in the 1M competition (419.60) to earn diver of the meet honors. Her coach, Lisa Gibbs, was named the NESCAC Diving Coach of the Year.

            First-year racer Jen Friedlander (Deephaven, Minn.) captured the NESCAC title for the Panthers in the 1000 free, setting a new pool record with a time of 10:18.30. She also placed second in the 200 IM (2:07.28), while sophomore Katherine Loftus (Madison, Conn.) placed fifth in the 100 fly (58.17). Rookie Nora Daly (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) had a solid race, placing second in the 200 free (1:52.67), third in the 50 free (24.26) and third in the 100 free (52.76). First-year racer Audrey Tolbert (Perryville, N.Y.) also turned in some top performances, finishing fifth in the 500 free (5:07.30) and sixth in the 1650 free (17:38.98).

            Winning the NESCAC title was the 800 free relay team comprised of Loftus, J. Friedlander, Daly and Tobert, finishing with a time of 7:35.33. Placing third in the 200 free with a time of 1:37.44 were Daly, Tolbert, Loftus and senior Katie Remington (Madison, Wis.), while the 400 free relay team of Daly, Tobert, Remington and rookie Salena Casha (Andover, Mass.) also finished third (3:32.37). Placing fourth in the 200 medley were the team of Casha, Remington, senior Yu Wang (Beijing, China) and junior Annie Friedlander (Deephaven, Minn.).

• Women's swim record: 7-2, men's swim record: 4-5

• Up next: 2/26-28 @ Men's NESCAC Championship (Williams)