March 8, 2010

         The Panther indoor track teams sent athletes to the ECAC Championships at Smith College over the weekend. Winning the ECAC Championship was the women's DMR team, who finished with a time of 11:59.40, setting a new school record. First-year athlete Juliet Ryan-Davis (Newton, Mass.), senior Anjuli Demers (Dracut, Mass.) and sophomores Rebecca Fanning (Ipswich, Mass.) and Margo Cramer (Seattle, Wash.) made up the championship team.

         Earning All-ECAC honors for the men was first-year racer John Davies, (Grosse Pointe, Mich.), who placed fifth in the mile with a time of 4:20.26. Earning the honor for the women were junior Kaitlyn Saldanha (Scarborough, Maine) in the 800 (4th-2:16.58) and first-year athlete Grace Doering (Darien, Conn.) in the high jump (7th-5'2.25"). The men's DMR team also earned All-ECAC honors with a school-record time of 10:15.65, good for sixth place. Comprising the team were senior Mike Waters (Bedford, Mass.), sophomore Michael Schmidt (Wilmette, Ill.) and juniors Addison Godine (Milton, Mass.) and Connor Wood (Lincolnshire, Ill.), who finished seventh overall in 10:03.25.

         The women's DMR team of Saldanha, Demers, Fanning and Cramer will compete at the NCAA's this week, as will Ryan-Davis in the 800.

• Indoor track races at ECAC's

• Up next: 3/12-13 @ NCAA's (Depauw)