All-NESCAC Cross Country Announced - Aldrich Is Coach Of The Year

November 3, 2009

The NESCAC has released its 2009 All-Conference cross country selections, based on individual's finishes at the recent NESCAC Championship races. Head Coach Terry Aldrich was chosen as the Women's Coach of the Year for the second straight season. Aldrich also received the conference's top coaching honor in 2000, 2001. He has also been honored at the national level as coach of the year on five occasions, most recently in 2008 after the Panthers captured the NCAA crown.

Sophomores Claire McIlvennie (Ithaca, N.Y.) and Elise Moody-Roberts (Cape Elizabeth, Maine) both earned first-team All-Conference honors. The tandem moved up from last year's second-team to this year's first-team as they helped the Panthers win the 2009 NESCAC Women's Cross Country Championship, their 10th overall and first outright crown since 2003. McIlvennie finished the championship in fourth (21:57) while Moody-Roberts was seventh (22:21). Earning second-team honors were rookies Sarah Lange (Brattleboro, Vt.) and Addie Tousley (Kensington, Md.).

On the men's side, sophomore Michael Schmidt (Wilmette, Ill.) earned first-team honors after holding a spot on the second team a year ago. Schmidt led the Panthers to a fourth-place showing at the conference championship - their best finish this decade. He finished the race seventh overall with a time of 26:28. Earning a spot on the second team for the Panthers was junior Jack Terrett (Sherborn, Mass.).