Eleven XCountry Runners Earn NESCAC Honor - Nagy Is Rookie Of The Year, Wilkerson Is Coach Of The Year

November 5, 2013

Eleven members of the Middlebury College cross country teams have earned All-NESCAC honors based on their recent performance at the 2013 championships hosted by Connecticut College. Seven women and four men were honored, including NESCAC Rookie of the Year Erzesbet Nagy (Albion, Maine) representing the Panther women. In addition, Nicole Wilkerson was named the NESCAC Women's Coach of the Year.

Nagy helped lead the women to their 12th NESCAC title with a second place overall finish in 21:27, seven seconds off the championship pace. Junior Alison Maxwell (Port Angeles, Wash.) wasn't far behind, earning a third place finish in 21:43. Rounding out the first-team honorees was  senior Emily Singer (Harrison, N.Y.), who finished with a time of 21:49.

Just two seconds separated first and second-team members, as junior Sarah Guth (Wilton, Conn.) placed eighth in 21:51.6, followed by senior Katie Rominger (Brooklyn, N.Y.) in ninth place in 21:51.7. Also earning second-team honors for the Panthers were sophomore Katherine Tercek (Los Angeles, Calif.) in 11th place (21:57) and junior Summer Spillane (Shelburne, Vt.) in 12th (22:08).

Senior Greg Krathwohl (Ipswich, Mass.) led the men’s team to a second place finish, earning first-team All-NESCAC honors with a fourth place effort in 24:52, 18 seconds off the winning time. Senior Nate Sans (Princeton, Mass.) was also named to the first team with a seventh place finish in 25:02. Earning second-team honors were senior Wilder Schaaf (Ashland, Ore.) in 11th place (25:14) and junior Kevin Wood (Lincolnshire, Ill.), who placed 13th overall with a time of 25:16.


Wilkerson earns NESCAC Coach of the Year honors for the first time, after being named both the men's and women's New England Region Coach of the Year during her first season in '11. Last season, she led the men's squad to its first NCAA Regional Championship, earning a school-best eighth place finish at the NCAA Championships. For her efforts, she was named the Men's Regional Coach of the Year.