Field Hockey To Host Colby In NESCAC Quarters

October 31, 2013

Amherst secured the top seed and home field advantage throughout the 2013 NESCAC Field Hockey Championship for the first time in program history after posting a 3-2, come-from-behind win over Trinity tonight. The Lord Jeffs will be joined by Bowdoin, Tufts and Middlebury as quarterfinal round hosts on Saturday, November 2. The highest seed following this weekend will earn the right to host both semifinals and the final on November 9-10.

Amherst and Tufts were tied for the top seed after the regular season concluded tonight, but the Lord Jeffs defeated the Jumbos, 3-0, on September 28 to win the tiebreaker. After dropping its first two games of the year in overtime, Amherst (12-2, 9-1 NESCAC) has rattled off 12 straight wins, six of which shutouts. The Lord Jeffs are looking for their first NESCAC title. In its lone final appearance in 2001, Amherst lost to Williams, 3-0. Amherst will face Wesleyan (6-8, 4-6 NESCAC), which snapped a three-game skid tonight with a 3-1 victory at Connecticut College. The Lord Jeffs lead the post-season series, 2-0, with the most recent decision being a 3-1 win in the 2011 quarterfinals. The Cardinals finished in a tie for seventh place with Williams after the Ephs defeated Hamilton, 3-1. Wesleyan fell to the eighth seed after Williams claimed the tiebreaker following a 2-0 win over the Cardinals on October 12.

Tufts (13-1, 9-1 NESCAC) clinched the second seed by defeating Bowdoin, 1-0, at home today. The Jumbos, who are riding a seven-game winning streak, won their lone conference title in 2009 when they defeated Trinity, 3-2. Tufts will square off against seventh-seeded Williams (6-8, 4-6 NESCAC) in the opening round. The Ephs opened the season 0-3, but have been above .500 since then, and finished the year with back-to-back wins. Williams, which has won three league titles, lost to the Jumbos on October 19, 3-2. The programs have split the post-season series with a win apiece. Tufts won the last meeting, 3-0, in the 2009 semifinal.

Bowdoin and Middlebury tied for third place in the standings, but the Polar Bears owned the tiebreaker after posting a 4-2 win over the Panthers on September 21. Bowdoin’s loss to Tufts this evening snapped a 10-game winning streak that dated back to a 4-2 loss to Amherst on September 14. The Polar Bears have won six of the last seven NESCAC titles, and have only missed reaching the semifinals once, which was in 2004. Bowdoin faces sixth-seed Trinity (8-6, 5-5 NESCAC) in the quarterfinal round. The Bantams have not missed the NESCAC Championship since 2006 when they earned their first post-season berth. Trinity has been in close games with the top three seeds this season with one-goals losses to Amherst, Tufts and Bowdoin. The game against Bowdoin was a 2-1 double-overtime affair in favor of the Polar Bears. Both teams have each won a game in their two post-season contests with the most recent game being a 2-0 win for Bowdoin in the 2011 semifinals.

Defending champion Middlebury (12-2, 8-2 NESCAC) enters the postseason as the fourth seed and hosts fifth-seeded Colby (9-5, 5-5 NESCAC) in Saturday’s quarterfinal round. The Panthers, who also claimed a NESCAC title in 2003, have won nine of their last ten games heading into the post-season. The Mules beat out Trinity for the fifth seed by virtue of their 5-0 win against the Bantams on September 21. Colby returns to the NESCAC Championship for the first time since 2008. The Mules’ lone post-season win came in 2004 when they knocked off Bowdoin, 1-0, in the quarterfinals. Middlebury and Colby met in the 2004 semifinal, where the Panthers came out on top, 4-0.

Results for the NESCAC Field Hockey Championship will be available at the completion of each day on the NESCAC website.

Saturday, November 2 at Higher Seeds
Quarterfinal Games
#8 Wesleyan at #1 Amherst – 1 pm
#7 Williams at #2 Tufts – 1 pm
#6 Trinity at #3 Bowdoin – 1 pm
#5 Colby at #4 Middlebury – 1 pm

Saturday, November 9 at Highest Remaining Seed
Semifinal Games - 11:00 am | 1:30 pm
Highest Remaining Seed vs. Lowest Remaining Seed
Remaining Quarterfinal Winners

Sunday, November 10
Championship – 12:00 pm

--courtesy NESCAC--