Beaney is Named National Coach of the Year

April 5, 2006

Middlebury College men's hockey coach Bill Beaney has been named the winner of the 2006 Edward Jeremiah Award, given annually to the Men's Division III Hockey Coach of the Year. Beaney, who recently completed his 19th season with Middlebury, becomes the first four-time winner of the Jeremiah Award, passing three-time honorees Mike McShane of Norwich University and the late Sid Watson of Bowdoin College. He was previously honored with the award in '90, '95 and '04.

Middlebury lost seven players from the 2005 NCAA champions but the Panthers never missed a beat in capturing New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) honors en route to the school's eighth NCAA Championship with a record of 26-2-2. He now has a record of 381-105-24 (.771) at Middlebury and an overall record of 467-181-32 over 26 seasons. His 467 wins are more than any other coach in Division III men's college hockey history.

The Lake Placid, New York native attended the University of New Hampshire, where he played four years of varsity hockey and captained the 1973 team. He began his coaching career in 1974 at Bellows Free Academy (Vermont), leading his teams to three straight championships. He then moved to the college ranks, taking over the reigns at New England College in 1979. He promptly led his teams to four consecutive ECAC Tournaments and one NCAA berth. He was named the New England Coach of the Year in 1981-82 and 1983-84 at New England College.

The Edward Jeremiah Award is named in honor of the great Dartmouth College head coach and was first presented in 1970. The runners-up for this year's Edward Jeremiah Award were John Rolli of UMass-Dartmouth and Mark Taylor of Hobart College. College hockey's Coach of the Year recipients are chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). Winners will receive their awards at the annual AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet, held in conjunction with the AHCA Convention in Naples, FL. This year's banquet is scheduled for Saturday, April 29.