N.E. Hockey Writers Honor Gilchrist, Smith & Beaney

March 16, 2006

Middlebury College men's hockey players Jeff Smith (Nepean, Ont.) and Mickey Gilchrist (Ottawa, Ont.) have both been named to the New England Hockey Writers All-New England team. Middlebury head coach Bill Beaney was deemed the New England Coach of the Year, while Gilchrist earned Player of the Year honors. The group recently won the school's third consecutive NCAA Championship and eighth in twelve years as they defeated St. Norbert 3-0 in the title game.

Smith, one of only two seniors on the squad, anchored the nation's best defense this season. The Panthers allowed a mere 1.54 goals/game, including just five in six post-season games. The core has allowed two or less goals in 25 of 30 games in '05-'06. Smith was also in on the offense, scoring five goals and adding eight assists for 13 points on the year. Smith was a first-team All-NESCAC and All-American selection.

After three goals in his first 11 games, Gilchrist scored 21 in his last 18 to lead the team, and rank sixth nationally with .82 goals/game this season. The sophomore ended the year with 24 goals and 26 assists for 50 points to go along with his team-leading nine power play and five game-winning goals (2nd nationally). Gilchrist now has 45 goals and 33 assists for 78 points during his first two seasons (58 games) at Middlebury. He was a first-team All-NESCAC and All-American selection.

Beaney recently completed his 19th year at Middlebury, winning his eighth NCAA title in the last 12 years. He now has a record of 381-105-24 (.771) at Middlebury and an overall record of 467-181-32 over 26 seasons. His 467 wins are more than any other coach in Division III men's college hockey history.