Men's Hockey Captures Holiday Classic

January 3, 2010

Middlebury captured the 18th annual Middlebury College Holiday Classic with a 5-2 win over Southern Maine in the title game. Martin Drolet notched three goals with three assists over the two days to earn tournament M.V.P. honors. Babson defeated Salve Regina 5-1 earlier in the day to win the third-place game.

Southern Maine had a pair of golden opportunities to score early on, but breakaway attempts by Dan Rautenberg and Zach Joy were both stopped by John Yanchek. Middlebury took a 1-0 lead at the 10:36 mark, when Nick Resor poked home a loose puck in the crease area. Yanchek kept it a one-goal game moments later, with another breakaway stop on Rautenberg.

Drolet made it a 2-0 game with 2:01 left in the first period, skating through the slot before scoring with a backhander. The period looked as though it had ended with Middlebury holding a 2-0 lead, but after a discussion with the goal judge, it was ruled that a Southern Maine shot had crossed the goal line at the 19:50 mark. David Nies was credited with the goal for the Huskies, as his shot from the left side hit the post and trickled across the goal line.

After earning six shots on goal on a power play at 12:21, the Panthers broke through with a power play goal at the 15:54 mark. Drolet won a face-off to Bryan Curran, who scored with a quick spin-around move just outside the slot. The Huskies answered 1:42 later, as Rautenberg broke in with some room and scored with a shot to the five-hole.

Drolet gave the Panthers some breathing room 3:31 into the third period, scoring on a rebound with an open net for his seventh of the season. Nick Resor wrapped up the scoring with a power play goal at the 13:23 mark to make it a 5-2 final.

Koray Celik made 28 saves and allowed five goals in 53:33 of action for Southern Maine, while Mason St. Hilaire earned four saves in 6:27. Yanchek made 18 stops for the Panthers to earn the win.

All-Tournament Team: #17 Patrick Bambery (Salve Regina), #11 Chris Wood (Babson), #28 Ken Suchoski (Middlebury), #18 Dan Rautenberg (USM), #29 Bryan Curran (Middlebury), #2 Chris Travis (USM), #23 Martin Drolet (Middlebury) - M.V.P.