Men's Hockey Battles Southern Maine To 2-2 Tie

January 1, 2012

Middlebury and Southern Maine (5-3-2) battled to a 2-2 tie on day two of the 19th annual Middlebury College Holiday Classic. By virtue of a points system used for the tournament, the #15 Panthers (5-3-2) were deemed the tournament champions. Potsdam netminder Kevin McFarland earned tournament m.v.p. honors with 93 saves over two games.

Middlebury opened the scoring 3:33 into the game with a power play goal just seven seconds into the opportunity. Tucker Donohoe’s shot from the left point was saved, as was Charles Nerbak’s first rebound attempt. Nerbak stuck with it and finished on the third shot attempt for his fifth of the year.


Both goaltenders made sparkling saves midway through the period, keeping it a 1-1 game. USM’s Braely Torris stopped George Ordway on a breakaway at 9:26, before Nick BonDurant made a nice save on Troy Thibodeau who broke in all alone at the 11:55 mark.

Southern Maine tied the game 3:42 into the second period, when David Neis’ shot hit the pads of BonDurant and went up and over for his third of the year. The Huskies made it a 2-1 game at 14:14 when Ben Pearl scored his second of the year on a quick redirect after a pass from the corner by Jamie Osborne.

Middlebury went on a five-on-three power play for 1:52 in the third period, tying the game at the 4:51 mark. Louis Belisle tipped in a shot from Tucker Donahoe for his third of the season to make it a 2-2 game. The Huskies went on a power play at the 14:10 mark, with Matt MacDonald hitting the pipe just after the man-advantage had expired.

Middlebury had a golden opportunity late with a power play with 2:59 remaining, but could not score the game winner. In the overtime, USM went on the man-advantage at the 2:58 mark, but were unable to capitalize. Middlebury’s Martin Drolet had the best chance of the OT as time was expiring, but he was denied by Braely Torris (32 saves). BonDurant made 18 stops for Middlebury as the Panthers held a 34-20 shots advantage in the contest.


2011-12 Holiday Classic All-Tournament Team
#29 Kevin McFarland-Potsdam (M.V.P.)
#3 Nick Dupuis-Skidmore
#19  Sy Nutkevitch-Potsdam
#2 Mathieu Castonguay-Middlebury
#21 Ryan Seward-S. Maine
#18 Charlie Strauss-Middlebury
#7 Jon Grandinetti-S. Maine