Men's Tennis Falls In NCAA Title Match

May 20, 2005

5/20/05 - The men's tennis team saw its hopes of winning back-to-back NCAA Championships come to an end as they fell to UC-Santa Cruz, 4-1. The Panthers end their season with a 17-3 record.

The Panthers trailed the match 1-0 after dropping a pair of doubles matches. In singles play, George Mayer was forced to retire due to an injury to give the Slugs a 2-0 lead. Alex Scott won his singles match, 7-5, 6-0, to cut the lead to 2-1. Brian Waldron fell 6-3, 6-2 to make it a 3-1 match, before Ari Beilin was defeated 6-2, 6-1 to clinch the match for UCSC.

UC-Santa Cruz 4, Middlebury 1


1.  Matt Seeberger defeats Brian Waldron (M), 6-3, 6-2

2.  Kevin Casey defeats Ari Beilin (M), 6-2, 6-1

3.  Shane Templeman vs Nate Edmunds (M) (DNF)

4.  Andrew Cohen defeats George Mayer (M), 6-3, ret.

5.  Matt Brunner vs Salih Unsal (M) (DNF)

6.  Alex Scott (M) defeats Kellen Alli-Christie, 7-5, 6-0


1.  Brunner/Seeberger defeats Justin Ingogli/Mayer, 8-5

2.  Casey/Alli-Christie defeat Beilin/Scott, 8-3

3.  Bryce Parmelly/Cohen vs Waldron/Edmunds (DNF)

Notes from UCSC:

In the singles matches UCSC got their second point early on after Geore Mayer at the No. 5 had to retire due to injury. Andrew Cohen won the first set and the match 6-3. UCSC was up a set in the No. 1, No.2, and No. 4 singles, but Alex Scott kept Middlebury's hopes alive with a 7-5, 6-0 victory over Kellen Alli-Chrisitie at No. 6.

All eyes then turned to courts 1 and 2 as the Slugs held commanding 4-1 and 5-0 leads over the
Panthers. At No. 1, Matt Seeberger, last year Singles champion, was first to put away his opponent with a 6-2 second set victory. Moments later Senior Kevin Casey (ITA West Region Senior Player of the Year) won his 16th straight match and clinched the National Championship with his 6-2, 6-1 victory over Ari Beilin. This marks the only the 3rd time in NCAA DIII Tennis Championship history that the host institution has won the National Title. This is the 5th National Title for Bob Hansen in his 23 yr career here at UCSC.