Skiers Earn Post-Season Honors

March 2, 2011

Three alpine skiers were honored when the 2011 All-East honors were announced following the Eastern Championships at Bates College. First-year racers Hig Roberts (Steamboat Springs, Colo.) and Robert Cone (Killington, Vt.) earned second-team honors on the men’s side, while senior Nicole Dvorak (Essex Junction, Vt.) did the same for the women. Several members of the nordic and alpine teams were also named to the EISA All-Academic team.

Cone and Roberts have both enjoyed great rookie seasons on the alpine slopes for the Panthers. Cone earned three podium finishes in the GS this season, placing third in both the GS and slalom at Dartmouth. He finished in the top seven eight times, including a fifth place finish in the slalom at the Middlebury Carnival.

Roberts finished in the top 10 seven times this year, including a season-best second place finish in the GS last week at the Eastern Championships. The rookie finished third in the GS at the Middlebury carnival, while earning a fifth place finish in the giant slalom event at Colby.

Dvorak has paced the Middlebury women all season long, earning five top-five finishes during the ’11 carnival circuit. The senior has earned a podium spot in the slalom during each of the last two carnivals (Middlebury/Bates), while placing in the top five in both events at the Vermont Carnival.

Earning spots on the All-Academic team on the alpine side were Dvorak, senior Tasha Woodworth (Carlisle, Mass.) and sophomores Bronwyn Oatley (Thornhill, Ont.) and Bryan Shpall (Englewood, Colo.). Representing the nordic team were seniors Jimmy Levins (Rutland, Vt.) and Graham  Egan (Stuart, Fla.).