Men's Swimmers Place Fourth At NESCAC's

February 26, 2007

The Middlebury College men's swimming and diving teams finished fourth overall at the NESCAC Championship meet hosted by Bowdoin over the weekend. Williams won the event, followed by Amherst, Tufts and Middlebury.

Senior Rob Collier (Catonsville, Md.) had an amazing weekend, capturing three individual NESCAC titles, while placing second as a member of three different relay teams. The senior won the 200 IM in 1:52.81, while setting new NESCAC and school records with wins in the 100 and 200 fly. Collier broke the 50 second mark with a time of 49.85 to win the 100 fly, while finishing in 1:50.39 to capture the 200 fly.

First-year diver Brooks Farrar (Medfield, Mass.) was named the NESCAC diver of the meet after winning both the one-meter and three-meter diving championships. The rookie won the 1M event with 365.86 points, while earning 466.85 points in the 3M event. Farrar's coach Lisa Gibbs was named the NESCAC Diving Coach of the Meet.

First-year racer John Dillon (Wellesley, Mass.) also broke the 50 second mark in the 100 fly, finishing second overall with a time of 49.85. He also placed second behind Collier in the 200 fly, finishing the race in 1:50.66.

Sophomore Kevin O'Rourke (Chagrin Falls, Ohio) finished fifth in the 200 free (1:42.96), while senior Michael Young (Leawood, Kan.) placed fifth in three-meter diving (448.40). First-year racer Schuyler Beeman (Guildford, Conn.) placed fourth in the 100 backstroke in 52.60, while earning a best time of 20.82 in the 50 free. Sophomore Zach Woods (Monroe, N.Y.) finished second in the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:53.24, while placing third with a best time of 52.12 in the 100 backstroke.

Three Middlebury relay teams each earned second place finishes at the meet. The 400 medley team comprised of Woods, Collier, Beeman and senior Tim Lux (Sandy Hook, Conn.) finished with a time of 3:25.53. Woods, Collier, Beeman and junior Peter Bell (Deerfield, Mass.) finished in 1:34.71 in the 200 medley relay, while Beeman, Collier, O'Rourke and senior John Rayburn (Washington, D.C.) finished the 400 free in 3:05.32.