Brakeley Wins National Scholarship

June 4, 2004

6/4/04 - Rebecca Brakeley of Middlebury College, the Most Valuable Player of the 2004 NCAA Women's Division III Lacrosse Championship Game, was named the winner of CSTV: College Sports Television's inaugural $5,000 Diane Geppi-Aikens Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded by CSTV (www.collegesports.com), the first 24-hour college sports network, to the senior women's college lacrosse player who has displayed the same extraordinary leadership, character and perseverance as exhibited by Geppi-Aikens, the Hall of Fame coach women's lacrosse team who passed away last summer from brain cancer just weeks after leading Loyola (Md.) to the NCAA Final Four.

Brakeley, of <?xml:namespace prefix = "st1" ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Middlebury, Vt., was honored last night at the Tewaaraton Trophy Awards Ceremony at the National Geographic Society in Washington, D.C.  College Sports TV will televise the ceremony, including the presentation of Brakeley's scholarship and the 2004 Men's and Women's Tewaaraton Trophies, on Thursday, July 1, at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT.  The Tewaaraton Trophies are given to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players of the year.

<?xml:namespace prefix = "o" ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" /> 

The Rebecca Brakeley file

·  Senior All-America midfielder and captain of this year's Middlebury women's lacrosse team, which finished 19-0 after defeating The College of New Jersey 13-11 in overtime to capture the NCAA Women's Division III Lacrosse Championship

·  Played major role in Middlebury's running up a 70-1 record the past four years and winning national championships in 2001, 2002 and 2004

·  A neuroscience major, she graduated from Middlebury cum laude with a 3.6 grade point average and plans to attend medical school

·  Also captained the Middlebury field hockey squad to a 19-1 record last fall and a berth in the 2003 NCAA Division III finals

·  An artist whose sketches of the Middlebury Panther mascot grace school stationery

Diane Geppi-Aikens was diagnosed with brain cancer in January 2002 after having cancerous brain tumors removed on three previous occasions.  She coached the 2003 season in a wheelchair.  College Sports TV chronicled Loyola's memorable 2003 season in its documentary, Season of Hope: The Diane Geppi-Aikens Story, which followed Geppi-Aikens and her team on the sidelines during games and practices, on the team bus, in the locker room and at home. She passed away on June 29, 2003, at the age of 40. 


CSTV's establishment of the Diane Geppi-Aikens Scholarship is part of the network's  commitment to covering and promoting women's college sports, and women's lacrosse in particular.  The network televised the NCAA Divisions I, II and III Women's Lacrosse Championships this season as part of its CSTV Lacrosse package.  CSTV Lacrosse's regular season schedule included games featuring each of the 2004 Women's Final Four teams - Princeton (2003 and 2004 champion), Georgetown, Virginia and Vanderbilt, as well as other prominent women's programs such as Maryland, Penn State and Ohio State.