Women's Lax To Host NESCAC's

May 4, 2005

5/4/05 - The defending national champions and four-time defending NESCAC champion Middlebury College will host the semifinals and finals of the NESCAC Women's Lacrosse Championship on Saturday-Sunday, May 7-8 at Kohn Field in Middlebury, Vermont.

The Panthers (9-0 NESCAC, 12-1 overall), currently ranked second nationally by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA), earned a first round bye and will face fifth seed Williams (5-4 NESCAC, 11-4 overall) in the first semifinal at noon on Saturday. The Ephs used Rachel Barr's four goals to upset fourth-seed Colby 8-6 in their first round contest on Sunday.

For the first time in the four-year history of the event, Amherst and Williams will not meet in the semifinal round. Rather, third seed Amherst (7-2 NESCAC, 11-2 overall) will face second seed Bowdoin (7-2 NESCAC, 14-2 overall) in the second semifinal at 2:30 p.m. Bowdoin rallied from four goals down with 14 minutes to play in the second half to defeat Amherst 10-7 in overtime on the final day of the regular season.

In first round tournament action, Amherst used four goals from Dana Kuper along with two goals and three assists from Alyssa Briody to put away Tufts 15-5. Bowdoin held Wesleyan's all-time scorer Becca Vogel without a score as the Polar Bears defeated Wesleyan 13-6 in other first round action.

All four teams are ranked in the top 10 of the latest IWLCA poll. Behind Middlebury, who ranks second, is Bowdoin (4th), Amherst (6th) and Williams (10th).

Semifinal winners will meet Sunday at 12:00 p.m. for the NESCAC Championship. The Conference champion receives an automatic berth to the NCAA Division III Championship.


First Round - Sunday, May 1 at Higher Seeds

No. 2 Bowdoin 13...No. 7 Wesleyan 6

No. 3 Amherst 15...No. 6 Tufts 5

No. 5 Williams 8...No. 4 Colby 6

Semifinals - Saturday, May 7 at Middlebury

No. 1 Middlebury vs. No. 5 Williams 12:00 p.m.

No. 2 Bowdoin vs. No. 3 Amherst 2:30 p.m.

Championship - Sunday, May 8 at Middlebury

Semifinal winners - 12:00 p.m.


--courtesy NESCAC--