Women's Lacrosse With Academic Honors

August 27, 2008

The IWLCA announced the 56 institutions in Division III have earned Academic Squad honors, and the 172 Division III student-athletes who earned Academic Honor Roll status for 2008 yesterday. The Middlebury women's lacrosse team was named to the Academic Squad list, with two athletes (Alice Demmerle and Katie Sparkes) earning a spot on the Academic Honor Roll.

The 2008 Panthers were joined by eight other NESCAC institutions as Amherst, Bates, Bowdoin, Connecticut, Hamilton, Middlebury, Tufts, Wesleyan, and Williams all qualified. Only teams that have a collective GPA of 3.0 or greater earn the distinction of Academic Squad.

The Lord Jeffs finished the season with a 15-4 overall record and reached the National Quarterfinals this spring before falling to defending champion Franklin & Marshall.