Foote Inducted Into Hall Of Fame

October 23, 2012

Eight of the most recognizable names over the past 30 years of men's and women’s lacrosse were formally inducted as the newest members of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame Saturday evening (10/20) at the Grand Lodge in Hunt Valley, Maryland.

The eight inductees in the Class of 2012 - Jen Adams, Roy Colsey, Brian Dougherty, Missy Foote, Kelly Amonte Hiller, Jesse Hubbard, Tim Nelson, and Cindy Timchal – have achieved unparalleled individual and team successes at the collegiate, professional and international levels during their careers. All but two were inducted as truly great players. Foote and Timchal were inducted as truly great coaches.

Each of the inductees was introduced at the ceremony by a short video that summarized many of their career highlights and included comments from a presenter. Following that introduction, each inductee addressed the gathering of current Hall of Fame members and the several hundred additional friends, family and lacrosse supporters who gathered for the black-tie optional celebration, sponsored by Bollinger Insurance and the Markel Insurance Company.


A huge contingency of former players and coaches joined Foote at the induction ceremony.

Foote is in her 35th year on the Middlebury athletic staff and recently completed her 31st season as head coach of the women’s lacrosse program. She has a career record of 376-101-1, boasting a winning percentage of nearly 80 percent. She has guided Middlebury to the NCAA Division III national championship five times (1997, 1999, 2001, 2002 and 2004) and has recorded four perfect seasons. Under her guidance, Middlebury has recorded seven conference championships and made 14 straight trips to the NCAA national semifinals from 1994-2007. She has been recognized as the IWLCA National Coach of the Year five times. Foote also served as an assistant coach with the U.S. Women’s Developmental Team from 2005-09, and a member of the NCAA Division III Women’s Lacrosse Committee from 2003-06.

2001 marked Foote's 21st and final year as head coach of the field hockey program at Middlebury. She ended her career with a record of 180-95-12 for a .648 winning percentage. Her 180 wins are more than any other coach in the 33-year history of the program at Middlebury. Her most successful season came in 1998 when she led the team to a 17-1 record and its first NCAA Championship. She has also paced the team to NCAA Tournament appearances in '94 and '96. During her reign, the team made six ECAC Tournament appearances and captured a pair of ECAC crowns in '93 and '97. She was named the Division III Regional and National Coach of the Year in '94 and '98.

A 1974 Springfield College graduate, Foote coached field hockey, basketball, and lacrosse at Green Mountain Union High School in Chester, Vermont, before joining the Middlebury staff in 1977. She is currently the director of physical education at Middlebury.

Foote also serves as the Senior Woman Administrator and Associate Athletic Director at Middlebury.

"I like to say to my players that 'we stand on the shoulders of those that came before us,'" Foote said. "So I'm now standing on the shoulders of my players who worked hard and followed the philosophy that I was trying to espouse. They really made this honor possible."

Her husband, Richard Foote, served as her presenter.

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, a program of US Lacrosse, was established in 1957 to honor men and women who by their deeds as players, coaches, officials and/or contributors, and by the example of their lives, personify the great contribution of lacrosse to our way of life. More than 350 lacrosse greats are honored in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, which is located with the Lacrosse Museum at US Lacrosse Headquarters in Baltimore.

Photo credit: US Lacrosse
Front row: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Jen Adams,  Cindy Timchal, Missy Foote.
Back row: Tim Nelson, Roy Colsey, Brian Dougherty, Jesse Hubbard.