December 17, 1997

Emmy Award-Winning Anchor and CNN Correspondent Jeanne Meserve to Present "The Stories You Won't See on the Network News"

Jeanne Meserve, an Emmy Award-winning anchor and correspondent for CNN, will deliver the Robert W. van de Velde, Jr. Memorial Lecture on "The Stories You Won't See on the Network News" at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, January 7 in the auditorium of Middlebury College's Twilight Hall. Meserve is a Middlebury alumna from the class of 1974. The lecture is open to the public and free of charge.

Based in CNN's Washington, D.C. bureau, Meserve has a variety of anchoring responsibilities on the weekend, including Early Prime, The World Today, PrimeNews, and World News. Meserve, who joined CNN in 1993, won an Emmy in 1997 for her contribution to the network's coverage of the Olympic Park bombing in Atlanta.

Meserve's work at CNN includes anchoring coverage of the assassination of Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin-reporting that won a New York Festival Gold Medal. She also served as a floor reporter during both the Republican and Democratic 1996 national conventions.

Meserve was an ABC-TV news correspondent for eight years covering a variety of beats, including the White House and State Department. At ABC, Meserve reported extensively from overseas. She covered Beijing in the wake of the Tiananmen Square uprising, and reported on the hostage situation in Lebanon, tensions in the Persian Gulf, and the intricacies of U.S. Soviet relations.

Robert W. van de Velde, Jr. was a member of the Middlebury class of 1975. The memorial lecture was established in 1981 by his parents, R.W. and Barbara van de Velde; his widow, Diana Mooney van de Velde; and other family members and friends. The lecture series provides an annual talk on the confluence of public affairs-both foreign and domestic-and journalism, particularly broadcast journalism. Previous speakers in the series have included Frank Sesno of the class of 1977, Cecil Forster of the class of 1964, Robert Abernethy, Governor Madeleine Kunin, Raymond Benson, Jane Bryant Quinn of the class of 1960, Karl Meyer, and E.D. Hirsch.