The Bread Loaf Writers' Conference

A Letter from the Director

The Bread Loaf Writers' Conference is one of America's most valuable literary institutions. For the past 89 years, the workshops, lectures, and classes, held in the shadow of the Green Mountains, have introduced generations of participants to rigorous practical and theoretical approaches to the craft of writing, and given America itself proven models of literary instruction. [Read more]

First Annual Bread Loaf Orion Environmental Writers' Conference in Ripton, Vermont
June 9-15, 2014

Robert Frost's cabin on the Bread Loaf Campus.
Faculty include Rick Bass, Jane Brox, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Camille Dungy, Maurice Manning, and Alan Weisman. The Conference is a collaboration between Orion magazine, the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and the Environmental Studies Program at Middlebury College. Click here or on the image above for more information and the application.

iTunes U

Bread Loaf lectures and readings are available online. Click here to listen.

Remembering Matthew Power

We are sad to announce the passing of Matthew Power, former Bread Loaf tuition scholar and visiting writer. A tuition scholar in nonfiction in 2004, Matthew visited the Conference as a guest almost every August since then to offer talks and classes for participants. We are going to miss him. We would like to share this remembrance of Matthew written by Abe Streep: Relentless Generosity.

Bread Loaf in Vermont
August 13-23, 2014


The application period for the 2014 Vermont session has now closed. For those who applied, notification letters will be sent by e-mail in late May.

Bread Loaf Bakeless Camargo Residency in Cassis, France
May 2014


Click here or on the image above for more information.



Bread Loaf in Sicily
September 21-27, 2014

<p><em>Photo by Hope Maxwell Snyder</em></p>

The 2014 program is now full, and we are no longer accepting applications. If you would like information about the 2015 session, please send an email with "Sicily 2015" noted in the subject line to


Bryn Chancellor wins the Maureen Egen Writers' Exchange Award for fiction. Click here to read the press release from Poets & Writers, Inc.

The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced its 2014 literature awards. Included in its 20 winners are Bread Loafers James Longenbach, Eric Puchner, Laura Van Den Berg, and Ellen Bryant Voigt. The Conference would like to congratulate all of this year's winners. Click here to read the Academy's original news release.

This year the National Endowment for the Arts awarded Creative Writing Fellowships in prose to 38 writers, including Bread Loafers Percival Everett, Patricia Engel, Michelle Hoover, Alex Espinosa, Justin Torres, Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich, and Melinda Moustakis. And the 2013 list of ten Whiting Writers' Award winners includes Bread Loafers Amanda Coplin and Stephanie Powell Watts. The Conference would like to congratulate all of this year's winners. Visit the NEA and Whiting Foundation websites for more details including the full lists of winners.