The Bread Loaf Writers' Conferences


Bread Loaf in Sicily Faculty 2014


Jane Brox’s fourth book, Brilliant: The Evolution of Artificial Light, was named one of Time magazine’s top ten nonfiction books of 2010.  Her second book, Five Thousand Days Like This One, was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and her first, Here and Nowhere Else, won the L.L. Winship/PEN New England Award.  Her work has appeared in many journals and anthologies, including Best American EssaysThe Norton Book of Nature Writing, and the Pushcart Prize Anthology.  She has received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.  She currently teaches in Lesley University’s MFA program and lives in Brunswick, Maine. 


Linda Bierds’s ninth book of poetry, Roget’s Illusion, will be published in 2014. Her prizes include the PEN/West Poetry Award, two grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, four Pushcart Prizes, the Consuelo Ford Award from the Poetry Society of America, the Virginia Quarterly Review’s Emily Clark Balch Poetry Prize, and fellowships from the Ingram Merrill and Guggenheim foundations. In 1998 she was named a fellow of the MacArthur Foundation. Bierds’s poems have appeared in numerous publications including Atlantic, New York Times, New Yorker, and Poetry. She teaches at the University of Washington and lives on Bainbridge Island.

Michael Collier, director of the Conference, has published six books of poems, including The Ledge, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and, most recently, An Individual History. With Charles Baxter and Edward Hirsch, he edited A William Maxwell Portrait. He has received an Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, Guggenheim Foundation and Thomas Watson Foundation fellowships, and two National Endowment for the Arts fellowships. Poet Laureate of Maryland from 2001-2004, he teaches in the creative writing program at the University of Maryland.


Stacey D’Erasmo is the author of the novels TeaA Seahorse Year, The Sky Below, and Wonderland, as well as the nonfiction book The Art of Intimacy: The Space Between. She is the recipient of a 2009 Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship. Her essays, features, and reviews have appeared in BookforumBoston ReviewNew York Times Book ReviewNew York Times Magazine, and Ploughshares, among other publications. She is an associate professor of writing at Columbia University. 

Jay Parini is a novelist, poet, biographer, and critic.  His seven novels include The Last Station, Benjamin's Crossing, and The Passages of H. M.  His poetry includes The Art of Subtraction:  New and Selected Poems. He has written biographies of John Steinbeck, Robert Frost, and William Faulkner.  His nonfiction includes such books as The Art of Teaching, Why Poetry Matters, and Promised Land: Thirteen Books that Changed America. The Last Station was made into an Academy Award-nominated film in 2009.  He is Axinn Professor of English and Creative Writing at Middlebury College.