2018 Faculty Will Include:

Ted GenowaysTed Genoways is a contributing editor at Mother Jones and New Republic. He is the author of This Blessed Earth: A Year in the Life of an American Farm (2017);The Chain: Farm, Factory, and the Fate of Our Food (2014), a finalist for the James Beard Foundation Book Award for Writing and Literature; and Tequila Wars: The Bloody Struggle for the Spirit of Mexico (forthcoming, 2018). He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Guggenheim Foundation and is a winner of a National Press Club Award and the James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism.


Brooks HaxtonBrooks Haxton is the author of eight books of original poetry, four books of translations from Classical Greek, French, and German, and a nonfiction account of his son’s career in high-stakes poker. A recipient of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Guggenheim Foundation, and others, Haxton has taught for more than twenty years in the graduate writing programs at Syracuse University and Warren Wilson College.  He lives in Manlius, New York, with his wife, a psychiatrist.


Deirdre HeekinDeirdre Heekin is the author of An Unlikely Vineyard. Heekin and her husband, Caleb Barber, are the authors of In Late Winter We Ate Pears (2009), and she is also the author of Libation: A Bitter Alchemy (2009) and Pane e Salute (2002). Heekin and her husband are the owners of La Garagista Farm and Winery in Vermont, where they grow wine, vegetables, fruits, flowers, and herbs for their pop-up tasting room/wine bar and supper club Hart: tavernetta + bar a vin.


Scott Russell SandersScott Russell Sanders lives in the hardwood hill country of southern Indiana.  He wonders about the vast, marvelous, ongoing show we call nature, and he puzzles about our two-legged species, about why we are degrading the conditions for life on Earth and how we might live more wisely. He is the author of twenty books of fiction and nonfiction, including, most recently, A Conservationist Manifesto (2009), Earth Works: Selected Essays (2012), Divine Animal: A Novel (2014), and a collection of strange stories called Dancing in Dreamtime (2016).


Ginger StrandGinger Strand is the author of one novel and three books of narrative nonfiction, including The Brothers Vonnegut (2015) and Inventing Niagara (2008), which was shortlisted for the Orion Book Award. Her work has appeared in a wide range of magazines, including Harper's, Tin House, New York Times, New Yorker, Pacific Standard, The Believer, OnEarth, and Orion. She also writes frequently about photography, and has written essays for three photography books, including the Magnum Agency's Postcards from America.

Amber Flora ThomasAmber Flora Thomas is the recipient of several poetry awards, including the Dylan Thomas American Poet Prize, Richard Peterson Prize and Ann Stanford Prize. She is the author of the forthcoming Red Channel in the Rupture (2018), The Rabbits Could Sing (2012) and Eye of Water (2005), selected by Harryette Mullen for the 2004 Cave Canem Poetry Prize. Her poetry has appeared in Zyzzyva, Callaloo, Orion Magazine, Alaska Quarterly Review, American Literary Review and Crab Orchard Review, among other publications. She is a Cave Canem fellow and faculty member and an Assistant Professor of English at East Carolina University in Greenville, North Carolina.


Luis Alberto UrreaLuis Alberto Urrea is the best-selling author of sixteen books, including The Devil's Highway and The Hummingbird's Daughter. A finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, Urrea has won the Lannan Literary Award, the Pacific Rim Kiriyama Prize, an American Book Award, the Christopher Award, and an Edgar Award, among other honors. His novel Into the Beautiful North is a current selection of the Big Read Program sponsored by the National Endowment for the Arts. His short story collection, The Water Museum, was a finalist for the 2015 PEN/Faulkner Award and his poetry collection The Tijuana Book of the Dead was listed as a 2015 Southwest Book of the Year. He lives outside of Chicago and is a distinguished professor of Creative Writing at the University of Illinois-Chicago.

2018 Guests Include:

Anna Lena Phillips Bell, Editor, Ecotone
George Black, Editor-at-Large, Food & Environment Reporting Network
Carolyn Kuebler, Editor, New England Review
Zach Lisabeth, Managing Editor, Flyway
Rachel Riederer, Co-Editor-in-Chief, Guernica Magazine
Jennifer Sahn, Executive Editor, Pacific Standard
Daniel Slager, Publisher, Milkweed Editions
Matt Weiland, Senior Editor, W.W. Norton & Company


Bread Loaf Conferences
204 College Street
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753

Phone: 802-443-5286
Fax: 802-443-2087
Email: blwc@middlebury.edu