For Current Updates on COVID-19:


December 6, 1999

Middlebury College Dining Services Wins Idaho Bean Commission's Cash for Beans Recipe Contest -- Second Recipe from the College Also Receives Prize

Middlebury College dining services has received first prize for its recipe White Chili with Herbs, which was entered in an Idaho Bean Commission recipe contest called Cash for Beans. The commission, seeking to expand a national market, created the contest to help identify how foodservice professionals currently cook with beans. By publicizing the results, the organization hopes to inspire others to use more beans. Dozens of recipes were received from restaurants, hotels, schools, retirement homes, hospitals, colleges, and universities across the nation.

The commission awarded Middlebury College $1,000 for Executive Chef David Phelps' prize-winning recipe, White Chili with Herbs. Another of the College's bean recipes, called Kate's Three Sisters Stew, was awarded runner-up placement and a cash prize of $250.

The commission plans to use recipes submitted by contestants for brochures, recipe cards, and for publication in various foodservice magazines.

Director of Middlebury College Dining Services Peter Napolitano praised Phelps' creativity and talent. "Chef Phelps' attention to detail and his ability to blend foods, herbs, and spices have earned him the respect and admiration of those with whom he works. He is a credit to his profession and we are very pleased to have him as a member of the Middlebury College dining services team," said Napolitano.

The second and third prize winners of the Cash for Beans contest were Kansas State University dining services in Manhatten, Kans.; and Hialeah Hospital in Hialeah, Fla., respectively.

Middlebury College also received recognition for excellence in foodservice from Restaurants and Institutions magazine (R&I) earlier this year as the recipient of R&I's 1999 Ivy Award. Middlebury was both the only Vermont institution and the only college or university in the nation to receive the Ivy Award this year.