Carnegie Foundation Honors Top Professor in Vermont

— Middlebury College’s Allison Stanger Receives Recognition

as Vermont Professor of the Year

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

has named Middlebury College’s Allison K. Stanger the 1999 Vermont

Professor of the Year.

Stanger is associate professor of political science

and director of the international politics and economics program

at Middlebury. She began teaching at Middlebury in 1991 as an

assistant professor of political science and was appointed associate

professor in May 1998. As the coordinator for Middlebury’s consortium

in international studies with the University of Vermont and the

Washington-based international affairs organization, the Atlantic

Council of the United States, Professor Stanger is presently working

with colleagues at these institutions to develop coordinated teaching

projects that link students from different institutions, both

at home and abroad.

She received her doctorate in political science from

Harvard University in 1991. She also holds a master’s in regional

studies-Soviet Union (Harvard University, 1988), a graduate diploma

in economics (London School of Economics, 1983), and an undergraduate

degree in actuarial science/mathematics (Ball State University,

1982). Fluent in Czech, French, and Russian, she has studied languages

and literature at Charles University (Prague), the Sorbonne (Paris),

and the Pushkin Institute (Moscow).

Professor Stanger is the co-editor and co-translator

(with Michael Kraus) of “Irreconcilable Differences? Explaining

Czechoslovakia’s Dissolution” (Rowman and Littlefield, 1999).

Her articles and essays on politics and culture have appeared

in such publications as East European Constitutional Review; Oxford

International Review; New England Review; Literarni Noviny (Prague);

Slovenske Listy (Prague); and Lateral (Barcelona), and she has

contributed seven chapters to various edited volumes. At present,

she is working on a translation of a play (“Dr. Burke’s Strange

Afternoon”) by the Czech playwright, Ladislav Smocek, and

a book-length study of Czechoslovakia’s Velvet Revolution and

its consequences.

The Council for Advancement and Support of Education

(CASE) established the Professors of the Year program in 1981

and works in cooperation with the Carnegie Foundation and various

other higher education associations in its administration.

This year, the Carnegie Foundation announced winners

in 44 states and the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico,

and the Virgin Islands. CASE assembled two preliminary panels

of judges to select the finalists. The Carnegie Foundation then

convened the third and final panel, which selected the four national

winners and the state winners.

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching,

a policy center located in Palo Alto, Calif., is devoted to strengthening

America’s schools and colleges.

The Council for the advancement and Support of Education

is an international association of educational institutions, with

more than 2,900 colleges, universities, and independent elementary

and secondary schools. Representing these institutions are advancement

professionals in the disciplines of alumni relations, communications,

and educational fund raising.