Sexual Assault Oversight Committee

The Sexual Assault Oversight Committee (SAOC) is a body of students, faculty and staff dedicated to supporting the efforts of the Middlebury community to end sexual misconduct, domestic violence, dating violence, and stalking (SMDVS) at Middlebury. The SAOC advances this goal in the following ways:

  • Educating each other and community members about the many facets of SMDVS in general and at Middlebury in particular;
  • Facilitating the work of the many offices, student groups, and programs involved in the SMDVS education, prevention and response effort and identifying opportunities for collaboration;
  • Identifying opportunities for all members of the Middlebury community to become involved in SMDVS education, prevention and response work as groups or individuals;
  • Exploring new resources, programs, and initiatives to meet emergent community needs.

While the primary goal of the SAOC is to bring representatives of many key constituencies in this work to one table, it does not usurp the authority of individual employees or administrative bodies whose responsibilities include work in this area. Individuals from the offices connected to this work serve as ex-officio members, and may call on the committee for collaboration, recommendations, and support as needed. The committee can provide its collective knowledge, identify concerns, and share information with and from the broader community as appropriate.  

In 2014-2015 the anticipated agenda will include:

  • Continued input on the Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women campus grant,
  • Planning, executing, and curating a program of events for Relationship Violence Awareness Month in October,
  • Planning, executing, and curating a program of events for Sexual Assault Awareness Month in April,
  • Working campus stakeholders to identify/create appropriate tools for a campus climate survey
  • Inviting campus and community experts to share topic-specific information to strengthen the comprehensive understanding of sexual and relationship violence 

Meeting Dates for Spring 2015
Axinn 219

Friday, February 13
Friday, March 20
Friday, April 24
Friday, May 8

All members of the community are warmly invited to join our meetings and our work. Please contact Director of Health and Wellness Education Barbara McCall for more information. 



The SAOC's membership is structured to ensure that those offices and individuals most involved in sexual and relationship violence work are represented and are coordinating their efforts, and to ensure that other members of the community invested in this issue can contribute to that work.  

SAOC members are responsible for evaluating the needs of the campus, identifying the agenda for the year, and serving as liaisons to their respective constituencies to invite broader participation in those initiatives as appropriate.

 Ex-Officio Members

  1. Director of Health and Wellness Education (co-chair)
  2. Judicial Affairs Officer 
  3. Liaison from Parton Center for Health and Wellness  
  4. Director of Chellis House
  5. VP of the Language Schools or designee
  6. Commons Dean
  7. Human Relations Officer

At-Large Members

  1. Three faculty members, one of whom must be a member of the coaching faculty
  2. Five student members, including one student co-chair and one MiddSafe advocate 

Student members of the SAOC are selected each spring/summer through a campus-wide application process, and faculty members are appointed to one year terms by the Vice President for Academic Affairs.

2014-2015 SAOC Members


Ellie Gebarowski-Shafer (Faculty, Religion)
Karen Guttentag (Judicial Affairs Officer)               
Terry Jenny (Parton Center for Health and Wellness)                         
Beth Karnes-Keefe (VP of the Language Schools)     
Barbara McCall (Director of Health and Wellness Education)
Robert Moeller (Faculty, Psychology)
Emily Pedowitz (Interim Director of Chellis House) 
Sue Ritter (Human Relations Officer)            
Robert Rueppel (Faculty, Swimming)
Ian Sutherland (Commons Dean)    

Katie Prestion, '17
Otto Nagengast, '17
Durga Jayaraman, '16
Becca Hicks, '15
Molly McShane '16.5