TIm Mosehauer
Kitchel House 201
(802) 443-5105

How did you get to Middlebury? I grew up in Virginia, and after college moved to Boston. After living for many years there and going on several international adventures, I met my wife, and we decided to move to her home state of Vermont. We were both fortunate to land perfect fit jobs that we still remain in, while also being able to start a family with 3 kids and making the most of this beautiful place.

Who do you work with? What is your favorite part of the job? I work with all students as an advisor. Especially those interested in the industry areas where I specialize. But also exploring students. I enjoy the most having conversations with students who are undecided about how to make the best decisions, how to take action, and how to meet people. One of my favorite aspects of the job is connecting students to alumni and helping them build relationships. Since I’ve been in the position so long, it’s especially gratifying to stay connected to alums I knew as students and introduce them to the next generation.

What is the best career advice anyone has given you? “Lure chance out of hiding.” I heard this expression once and instantly liked it. It reminds me that you can have the best intentions and plan, but you still need to be open to randomness and luck. I’m a big fan of planned happenstance, which is similar, and subscribe to lots of tenets of positive psychology. The job search and career exploration can be challenging, we often get a lot more ‘no’ than ‘yes’, so I think it’s best to try and have as positive a mindset as possible.

What is your favorite campus resource? I’m happy to be able to take advantage of the amazing athletic facilities. Whether that be the Natatorium, pick up soccer in the Virtue Field House, or the TAM trail, I enjoy being active. Even a nice walk out to The Knoll is a treat!

Interests/Hobbies: In addition to spending time with my family of my wife and 3 kids (and also close family with 2 kids right next door on our little ‘compound’), I try to get outside as much as possible. I enjoy both road biking and mountain biking, exploring trails in the woods, and recently tried out my first triathlon and century ride.

Return to the CCI Staff page.

Academic Degrees

BA, College of William and Mary
MA, Higher Ed Administration, Boston College