Beckman Scholars Program

Please note the Beckman Scholar program is currently not available at Middlebury and this page is provided only as a reference. The Middlebury Beckman Program ran from 2008-2014. 

The Beckman Scholars program, founded in 1997, is a national program to support research activities by exceptional chemistry, biochemistry, biological and medical science students sponsored by the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation in Irvine, CA.

The Middlebury Program

The Middlebury program consisted of a Beckman program faculty mentored (see list below) student research project that took place over a summer, an academic year, and then a second summer. The scholarship supported a student in chemistry, biochemistry, molecular, or developmental biology (see applicant eligibility below).

The student worked with the faculty mentor 40 hours a week for ten weeks each summer and 10 hours a week during the academic year, receiving a stipend of $6,000 plus $850 for travel and supplies each summer and $4,000 plus $1,600 for travel and supplies during the academic year for a total of $19,300.

The student and faculty mentor traveled to the Beckman Scholars Annual Research Symposium in July. Beckman Scholars from throughout the country gather at the Beckman Center for National Academies of Sciences and Engineering in Irvine, California. The Symposium features presentations by select Beckman Scholars, poster presentations, keynote speakers, informal seminars on topics of special interest by leading scientists, and social activities. All Symposium travel, lodging, and other expenses for Beckman Scholars and faculty mentors are paid for by the Beckman Foundation.

Eligible student criteria:

  • US Citizens or permanent residents
  • Sophmore or junior status with a declared biochemistry, chemistry, or MBB major
  • Student must be enrolled in or completed General Chemistry II (CHEM 104) or Advanced General Chemistry (CHEM 107) or have an AP equivalent
  • Excellent academic standing

Beckman Program Committee

Sunhee Choi, Chair
Pat Manley
Bob Cluss
Jim Ralph
Steve Sontum
Roger Sandwick
Bill Sunderman

Beckman Program Faculty Mentors

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Sunhee Choi
Jeffrey Byers
Molly Costanza-Robinson
James A. Larrabee

Molecular Biology and Biochemistry (MBB) Program
Grace Spatafora
Catherine Combelles
Jeremy Ward

2008 Scholar

Michelle Personick '09

2009 Scholar

Justin Bogart '10

2010 Scholars

Will McConaughy '11
Jack Terrett '11

2011 Scholars

Martine Stewart '12
Daniel Shaw '12

2012 Scholar

David Stillman '14

2013 Scholar

Peter Hetzler '14