Campus Sex Crime Prevention Act
The federal Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act, enacted on October 28, 2000, became effective on October 28, 2002. Sex offenders, under the Campus Sex Crimes Prevention Act, must register with the state where an institution of higher education is located (even if they do not reside in the state) once they become enrolled or work at an institution of higher education. The state must also learn of changes in enrollment or employment status. This act includes:
** Individuals enrolled on a full-time or part-time basis at a state’s institution of higher education; or
** Individuals who have full-time or part-time employment at a state’s institution of higher education—with or without compensation—for more than 14 days or for an aggregate period exceeding 30 days in a calendar year.
The law requires higher education institutions to issue statements advising campus communities about where they can obtain law-enforcement-agency-based, state-provided information concerning registered sex offenders.
Middlebury College and Bread Loaf, Vermont
In Vermont convicted sex offenders must register with the Vermont Criminal Information Center, which is maintained by the Vermont Department of Public Safety. Any person requesting, in accordance with the law, information on specific offenders may obtain that information.
In 1996, with the passage of 13 VSA, Chapter 167, Subchapter 3, the Vermont Sex Offender Registry was established at the Vermont Crime Information Center (VCIC). You can contact the Vermont Criminal Information Center either at http://vcic.vermont.gov/sex_offender or (802) 241-5400
Local law-enforcement agencies and the Vermont Crime Information Center are authorized to release relevant registry information to the public when requestors can articulate specific concern about their safety or the safety of others. State statute requires that requestors provide the subject’s name as the query’s basis. You may make queries to law enforcement agencies or VCIC by street address, town, or county.
The registry information may also be disclosed to the following agencies, organizations, or people:
- Local, state, and federal law-enforcement agencies exclusively for law-enforcement purposes;
- State and federal governmental agencies exclusively for conducting confidential background checks;
- Any employer, including a school district, who is authorized by law to request records and information from the Vermont Crime Information Center where such disclosure is necessary to protect the public concerning people this subchapter requires to register;
- People registered as a sex offenders for the purpose of reviewing the accuracy of any record relating to them.
The registry is prohibited from releasing lists of offenders in response to general questions regarding sex offenders’ whereabouts in particular communities. Victims’ identities shall not be released.
Middlebury College at Mills, California
In 1947 California implemented a sex-offender-registration program to keep track of people convicted of certain sex crimes. Then in 1996, California enacted Megan's Law.
For the first time, California could provide the public with photographs and descriptions of convicted sex offenders who have registered their whereabouts with local law enforcement. Pursuant to Section 290 of the California Penal code, convicted sex offenders are required by law to register within five days of changing residence locations (every 60 days if they do not have a permanent residence), starting school, employment at a school, or within five days of each birthday. California requires sex offenders to register with a law-enforcement agency in the jurisdiction in which they reside, as well as with institutions with sworn campus-police departments if they are students, working, or carrying on vocations on campus. Mills college Public Safety department is a non-sworn department. However, Mills College requires all registered sex offenders to register with the associate director of Public Safety. Information on registered sex offenders is available through the Megan's Law website: http://www.meganslaw.ca.gov . Or it’s available through the Oakland Police Department: 455 7th Street Oakland, CA 94607