Threat Assessment & Management Team

The Threat Assessment and Management (TAM) Team is appointed by the President of Middlebury College and is responsible in part for:

  • receiving reports and gathering and analyzing information regarding acts of violence, behavior of concern or statements and/or potential threats posed by individual(s); 
  • developing, implementing, and monitoring intervention strategies and management plans, which are designed to respond appropriately to statements, behavior and/or circumstances that generate concern that an individual may pose a risk of harm to a member of the College community, including but not limited to, incidents of violence, threatening behavior or statements, unwanted pursuit, stalking, and harassment;
  • and coordinating with appropriate authorities, including law enforcement, medical personnel, and other outside agencies, as appropriate.

Individuals may make a report to any member of the Threat Assessment and Management Team:

Lisa Burchard
Associate Dean of the College, Director of Public Safety
802.443.5241
eburchard@middlebury.edu

Dan Gaiotti
Associate Director of Public Safety
802.443.5873
dgaiotti@middlebury.edu

Karen Miller
Vice President for Human Resources
Chief Risk Officer
802.443.5261
karenm@middlebury.edu

Hannah Ross
General Counsel
802.443.5229
hross@middlebury.edu

Katy Smith Abbott
Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of the College
802.443.3233
smithabb@middlebury.edu

Sue Ritter
Compliance Officer/Title IX Coordinator
802.443.3289
sritter@middlebury.edu

Laura Carotenuto
Manager of Employee Relations
802.443.2012
lcaroten@middlebury.edu

Cheryl Mullins
Director of Human Resources
802.443.5542
cmullins@middlebury.edu

Gus Jordan
Executive Director Health and Counseling
802.44.5141
jordan@middlebury.edu

Ximena Mejia
Director
Counseling Services
802.443.5141
xmejia@middlebury.edu

Andrea Lloyd
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dean of the Faculty
802.443.5908
lloyd@middlebury.edu

Sarah Ray
Director of Public Affairs
802.443.5794
ray@middlebury.edu

Chris Norris
ITS Director, ISI
802.443.5480
cnorris@middlebury.edu

Beth Karnes Keefe
Associate Dean of Language Schools
802.443.5685
karnes@middlebury.edu

The Director of Public Safety serves as the chair of the Threat Assessment and Management Team and, in consultation with other College officials as appropriate, will assess the reported information and determine whether to convene the TAM Team.