Middlebury

 

Threat Assessment & Management Team

The Threat Assessment and Management (TAM) Team is appointed by the President of Middlebury College and is responsible in part for:

  • receiving reports and gathering and analyzing information regarding acts of violence, behavior of concern or statements and/or potential threats posed by individual(s); 
  • developing, implementing, and monitoring intervention strategies and management plans, which are designed to respond appropriately to statements, behavior and/or circumstances that generate concern that an individual may pose a risk of harm to a member of the College community, including but not limited to, incidents of violence, threatening behavior or statements, unwanted pursuit, stalking, and harassment;
  • and coordinating with appropriate authorities, including law enforcement, medical personnel, and other outside agencies, as appropriate.

Individuals may make a report to any member of the Threat Assessment and Management Team:

Department of Public Safety

Lisa Burchard
Associate Dean of the College, Director of Public Safety
802.443.5241
eburchard@middlebury.edu

Dan Gaiotti
Associate Director of Public Safety
802.443.5873
dgaiotti@middlebury.edu

Melody Perkins
Associate Director of Public Safety/On Call Manager/Trainer/Investigator
802.443.5133
mperkins@middlebury.edu

Chris Thompson
Sergeant
802.443.5133
cthompson@middlebury.edu

Office of the Dean of the College

Katy Smith Abbott
Dean of Students
802.443.3233
smithabb@middlebury.edu

Sue Ritter
Human Relations Officer
802.443.3289
sritter@middlebury.edu

Office of Human Resources

Laura Carotenuto
Manager of Employee Relations
802.443.2012
lcaroten@middlebury.edu

Drew Macan
Associate Vice President for Human Resources
802.443. 5261
cmacan@middlebury.edu

Business Services

Tom Corbin
Assistant Treasurer and Director of Business Services
802.443.5504
corbin@middlbury.edu

Parton Center for Health and Wellness

Gus Jordan
Executive Director
802.44.5141
jordan@middlebury.edu

Ximena Mejia
Director
Counseling Services
802.443.5141
xmejia@middlebury.edu

Academic Affairs

Andrea Lloyd
Dean of the Faculty
802.443.5908
lloyd@middlebury.edu

Communications

Sarah Ray
Director of Public Affairs
802.443.5794
ray@middlebury.edu

Library & Information Services

Chris Norris
Senior Technology Strategist
802.443.5480
cnorris@middlebury.edu

Language Schools, Schools Abroad, and Bread Loaf Programs

Beth Karnes Keefe
Assistant Dean
802.443.5685
karnes@middlebury.edu

The Director of Public Safety serves as the chair of the Threat Assessment and Management Team and, in consultation with other College officials as appropriate, will assess the reported information and determine whether to convene the TAM Team.