Public Service Leadership Awards

The Middlebury College Public Service Leadership Awards honor students' service and leadership in public and community affairs. The PSLAs were inaugurated in 1994 through the support of Patrick Durkin '79. 

2019 Public Service Leadership Awards!

The Center for Community Engagement hosted the 26th annual Public Service Leadership Awards on Tuesday, April 30th in Atwater Dining Hall.

Questions? Contact Ashley Laux,, 802.443.3099.

The Center for Community Engagement awards six Public Service Leadership Awards as well as:
  • The Dana Morosini Reeve ‘84 Memorial Public Service Award, given to the student who best exemplifies Dana’s spirit and determination as she tirelessly and selflessly devoted her life to caring for her husband Christopher Reeve and, through the Christopher Reeve Foundation, to her work as an advocate for all those with spinal cord injuries
  • The John M. McCardell Jr. Public Service Award, given to the student who best exemplifies efforts that bring Middlebury, both the College and the Town, more closely together for a public benefit. In this way, we honor the values to which John had been so strongly committed during his tenure as president and celebrate others who continue the tradition of this very important work
  • The Bonnie McCardell Public Service Award, given to a student for actions in support of youth and who best exemplifies outreach in one of the following areas: (1) youth and family services, (2) literacy, and (3) the special needs that arise during the critical middle and early high school years

May 2019 Awardees

Public Service Leadership Awards

  • Jocelyn Kelly Tenorio '19
  • Luna Shen '19.5
  • Taite Shomo ’20.5
  • Grace Abigail Vedock ’20
  • Lulu Zhou ’19
  • Ariana Hernandez ’19
  • Paola Meza ’19

The John M. McCardell Jr. Public Service Award

Dylan Montagu ’20

The Bonnie McCardell Public Service Award

Hal Juster ’19

The Dana Morosini Reeve '84 Memorial Public Service Award

Meg Fearey ’20

2019 Award Winners, President Patton, CCE Program Administrator Liz Cleveland, CCE AmeriCorps VISTA Member Sarah Litwiller, CCE Assistant Director Kailee A. Brickner-McDonald, CCE Language in Motion Coordinator Kristen Mullins, CCE Program Director Ashley Laux, CCE Assistant Director Jason Duquette-Hoffman, Academic Director of Privilege & Poverty James Calvin Davis, and CCE Director Tiffany Nourse Sargent.

Middlebury College News Release highlighting the 2019 Student Leadership Awards Celebration.