Public Service Leadership Awards

Public Service Leadership Awards honor students who through their service and leadership in public and community affairs have contributed to increasing the level of awareness and involvement in public and social affairs at Middlebury College. The PSLAs were inaugurated in 1994 through the support of Patrick Durkin '79. The Public Service Leadership Awards are presented at the annual Middlebury College Student Leadership Awards Ceremony each May.

The Center for Community Engagement awards six Public Service Leadership Awards as well as:
  • The Dana Morosini Reeve ‘84 Memorial Public Service Award, given to the student who best exemplifies Dana’s spirit and determination as she tirelessly and selflessly devoted her life to caring for her husband Christopher Reeve and, through the Christopher Reeve Foundation, to her work as an advocate for all those with spinal cord injuries
  • The John M. McCardell Jr. Public Service Award, given to the student who best exemplifies efforts that bring Middlebury, both the College and the Town, more closely together for a public benefit. In this way, we honor the values to which John had been so strongly committed during his tenure as president and celebrate others who continue the tradition of this very important work
  • The Bonnie McCardell Public Service Award, given to a student for actions in support of youth and who best exemplifies outreach in one of the following areas: (1) youth and family services, (2) literacy, and (3) the special needs that arise during the critical middle and early high school years

Nominations for the 2017 Public Service Leadership Awards ihave now closed. We will update this website with 2017 award winners after the May 2017 Student Leadership Award Ceremony.

Questions? Contact Ashley Laux,, 802.443.3099.

May 2016 Awardees

Public Service Leadereship Awards
  • Alexander McGarry Browne '18
  • Tiff Chang '17.5
  • Gabriela Fuentes '16
  • Kathryn Jean Haderlein '16
  • Charlie Mitchell '18
  • Michiko Yoshino '17
The John M. McCardell Jr. Public Service Award
Anna Knowles Johnson '16.5 and Santiago Navarro Roby '18
The Bonnie McCardell Public Service Award
Greer McInnes Howard '16
The Dana Morosini Reeve '84 Memorial Public Service Award
Erin Miller '16.5