Students celebrate the end of the school year at the Feminist of the Year Awards ceremony.
Students celebrate the end of the school year at the Feminist of the Year Awards ceremony.

The Feminist of the Year Award is given out annually to people who actively engage with our community around issues of gender, sex, and sexuality as they are experienced in relation to race, class, ability, and geography.

Candidates can be nominated in the following three categories:

  • Faculty
  • Staff
  • Students

Past winners have included the following:

  • FAM presidents Elizabeth Brookbank and Lauren Curatolo
  • WOC presidents Morgane Véronique Richardson, Ariana Rios, and Isabel Rivera
  • Sister-to-Sister mentors Gail Smith and Liane Barrera
  • Gender theory experts Laurie Essig, Sujata Moorti, Linda White, and Kamakshi Murti
  • Leaders of It Happens Here Luke Carroll Brown, Margo Cramer, Taite Shomo and Grace Vedock
  • Leaders of the People’s Gender Council Melian Radu and Elizabeth King
  • Trans rights activists Vi Ray-Mazumder and Lark Mulligan
  • Former Director of Health and Wellness Education Jyoti Daniere
  • Former Directors of the Center for Community Engagement Tiffany Sargent
  • Former Librarian Katrina Spencer
  • Former Human Resources Director Drew Macan
  • Professor of French and African Studies Armelle Crouzières-Ingenthron
  • Professor of German and former Dean of Institutional Diversity Roman Graf


Award recipients are honored each year at the Chellis House picnic in May.


Feminist Resource Center at Chellis House
56 Hillcrest Road
Middlebury, VT 05753