Aerial view of McCardell Bicentennial Hall.

The Institutional Review Board exists as a standing committee.

It consists of at least five members, including:

  • A member of the Psychology Department
  • A member of the Sociology-Anthropology Department
  • A member whose primary concerns are in non-scientific areas
  • A representative of the public from the local community who does not have active ties to the College or to the organization sponsoring the research
  • An administrator (ex officio)

The chair of the committee is appointed by the administration of the College. The community representative is invited by the Dean of the Faculty to serve on a yearly basis. The community member may serve as many consecutive terms as they are is invited to and willing to serve.

2022-23 IRB Members

  • Sayaka Abe, Japanese Studies
  • Janet Brennan, Community Member
  • Marcia Collaer, Psychology
  • David Mohr, Translation and Localization Management
  • Jake Pirkkanen, Scientific Technical Support Services (non-voting)
  • Jim Ralph, Dean of Faculty Development & Research (ex officio)
  • Andrea Robbett, Economics (Chair)
  • Thor Sawin, Teaching Foreign Languages/ Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages
  • Michael Sheridan, Anthropology
  • Gyula Zsombok, French and Francophone Studies

IRB Administration

Jake Pirkkanen

Associate Director for Research Compliance

McCardell Bicentennial Hall 329