Economics Department Events

Fall 2019

Thursday, September 26, 2019

Chuck Collins, Institute for Policy Studies, Washington D.C and Boston
"The Economics of Inequality"
Robert A. Jones House, 2nd floor
4:30 PM

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

New faculty Reception
Crossroads Cafe
4-6 PM

Thursday, October 3, 2019

Scott Rozelle, Cornell university
TBD
HLD 103
4:30 PM

Friday, October 4, 2019

Scott Rozelle, Cornell university
TBD
WNS 208
12:30 PM

Friday, October 18, 2019

Nicolas Petrovsky-Nadeau, Federal reserve board, San Francisco
TBD
WNS 208
12:30 PM

Friday, November 8, 2019

Argudo Esteban
TBD
WNS 208
12:30 PM

Monday, November 18, 2019

Adam Greshin, Commissioner of Department of Finance and Management, State of VT
Craig Bolio, Acting Commissioner of Taxes, State of VT
Douglas Farnham, Economist and Director of Tax Policy, Outreach and Leg Affairs, State of VT
“Just your Friendly Neighborhood Tax Department”

Abernethy Room, Axinn Center
12:15-1:30

Monday, March 2, 20

Dr. Tim Ferris, CEO of Massachusetts General Physicians Organization

"The US Healthcare System: Problems and Potential Solutions"

MBH 216

4:30 PM

Friday, April 3, 2020

Diego Comin, Dartmouth
TBD
WNS 208
12:30 PM

************

Winter and Spring 2019

January 30, 2019 (two events)
Winter term Theses poster presentations
McCardell Bicentennial Hall/Great hall
2:30-4:30 PM

Feb. Graduation Celebration
Two Brothers
5:30-8 PM

Friday, March 1, 2019
Changyong Rhee, IMF
“Can Asia Be a Growth Pole in Global Economy in the 21st Century? Short- and Medium-term Challenges and Opportunities”
Robert A. Jones Conference room, 2nd floor
4:30 PM

Friday, April 5, 2019
Jon Willis, Kansas city Fed.
Title: TBD
WNS 208
12:30 PM

Saturday, April 27, 2019
D.K.Smith symposium, organized by Phani Wunnava
Title:"Economics of Inequality"
Speakers: Edward Wolff, NYU; Stephanie Seguino, UVM; Brad Herbshein, Upjohn Institute; William Rodgers III, Rutgers U; Ani Mitra, Bard college
RAJ CON
9:30 AM-5:30 PM
Friday, May 3, 2019
Sebastian Sotelo, U of Michigan
Title: “Migration, Trade, and Specialization: Evidence from Brazil's March to the West”
WNS 208
12:30 PM
Friday, May 10, 2019
Lubka Petersen, Simon Fraser University
“Macroeconomic Literacy and Expectations”
WNS 208
12:30 PM
Monday, May 13, 2019
Spring thesis poster presentations
Wilson hall (in McCullough)
4-5:30 PM

************

Fall 2018

Friday, September 14, 2018
Ben Pugsley, Notre Dame University
Title TBD
11:00 AM-12:00 PM
Axinn 219

September 14-15, 2018
Friday Noon to Saturday Noon
Liberal Arts Colleges- Economics Development conference
Axinn 219

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Andrew Samwick, Dartmouth
"The Insurance Value of Financial Aid"
12:15-1:30 PM
Axinn 229

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
D.K. Smith lecture
Andrew Samwick, Dartmouth College
"Tax Policy and Economic Growth"
4:30-6:00 PM
Robert A. Jones '59 House Conference Room, 2nd floor

Friday, October 19, 2018
Daniel Hungerman, Notre Dame University
Title TBD
12:30-2:00 PM
Warner Hall 208

Monday, October 22, 2018
Hilary Hoynes, UC Berkeley
"Social Safety Net Investments in Children"
4:30-6:00 PM
Axinn 229

Thursday and Friday, October 25-26, 2018
"Beyond Wall Street" Alumni Panel for EconomicsMajors
for details, see link
go/BeyondWallStreet

Friday, October 26, 2018
Seventh Annual IPE Symposium
“Environmental Policy in an Unequal World,”
12:15 PM
Rober A. Jones Conference room, 2nd floor

Thursday, November 1, 2018
Bob Prasch's Posthumus Book Dedication Ceremony
4-7 PM
Abernethy Room in Axinn Center at Starr library

Friday, November 2, 2018
Pablo CubaBorda, Federal Reserve Board, Washington D.C.
Title TBD
12:30-2:00 PM
Warner Hall 208

Friday, November 9, 2018
Shanthi Ramnath, Treasury/D.C.
Title TBD
2:00 PM
Axinn 220

Friday, November 30, 2018
Ranjit Dighe, SUNY Oswego
"Huck Finn as Economic History"
12:30-2 PM
Warner Hall 208

Department of Economics

Warner Hall
303 College Street
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753