The Office of Institutional Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (OIDEI) serves as a hub for education, support services, advocacy and accountability related to diversity, equity and inclusion at Middlebury. 

We provide programming and resources that celebrate and affirm diverse identities and lived experiences. We offer development opportunities designed to help members of the campus community better understand and address barriers related to access, opportunity and full participation. We coordinate reporting processes and ensure there is a fair and equitable response to campus climate concerns and violations of related campus policies. We identify institutional goals, advocate for change, and provide both transparency and accountability about our progress in working toward those goals.

 

Tara Affolter
Faculty Director, Equity, Justice & Inclusion
Associate Professor of Education Studies
Twilight Hall 108
(802) 443-5944
taffolter@middlebury.edu

Christal Brown
Director, Anti-Racist Task Force
Twilight Artist-in-Residence
Associate Professor, Dance
Mahaney Arts Center 116
(802) 443-5677
christal@middlebury.edu

Elaine Orozco Hammond
Director of Equity Initiatives
Service Building 230
(802) 443-3491
ehammond@middlebury.edu

Naomi Flint
Assistant, Office of Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
(802) 443-5771
nflint@middlebury.edu

Education for Equity and Inclusion

Renee Wells
Asst. Vice President of Education for Equity and Inclusion
Service Building 218
(802) 443-5797
rwells@middlebury.edu

Crystal Jones
Asst. Director of Education for Equity and Inclusion
Service Building 217
(802) 443-2950
crystalj@middlebury.edu

Noreen Pecsok
Coordinator of Educational Outreach & Restorative Practices
Service Building 216
(802) 443-2287
npecsok@middlebury.edu

Civil Rights and Title IX

Butterfly Blaise Boire
Civil Rights and Title IX Coordinator
Service Building 213
(802) 443-2147
bboire@middlebury.edu

Human Relations Officers

Thaddeus Watulak
Sr. Human Relations Officer
Service Building 215
(802) 443-5741
twatulak@middlebury.edu

Cameron Connah
Human Relations Officer
Service Building 212
(802) 443-3324
cconnah@middlebury.edu
 

Anderson Freeman Resource Center

Derisa Collymore
Director of Intercultural Center
Carr Hall 102
(802) 443-5743
dcollymore@middlebury.edu

Janae Due
Assistant Director of Anderson Freeman Resource Center
Carr Hall 104
(802) 443-2377
jdue@middlebury.edu

Disability Resource Center

Jodi Litchfield
ADA Coordinator
Service Building 207
(802) 443-5936
litchfie@middlebury.edu

Peter Ploegman
ADA Coordinator
Service Building 208
(802) 443-2382
pploegman@middlebury.edu

Charles P. Scott Center for Spiritual and Religious Life

Mark Orten
Dean of Spiritual and Religious Life, Director of Scott Center
Chaplain’s Office (Scott Center)
(802) 443-5626
orten@middlebury.edu

Saifa Hussain
Associate Chaplain, Muslim Advisor
Chaplain’s Office (Scott Center)
(802) 443-5983
sthussain@middlebury.edu

Danielle Stillman
Associate Chaplain, Rabbi
Chaplain’s Office (Scott Center)
(802) 443-5762
dastillman@middlebury.edu

Ellen McKay
Program Coordinator
Chaplain’s Office (Scott Center)
(802) 443-5626
emckay@middlebury.edu