Middlebury

 

Carol Rifelj Faculty Lecture Series 2013-2014

All are welcome to attend

All lectures will be held in The Orchard (Room 103), The Franklin Environmental Center at Hillcrest unless otherwise noted.

Wednesday, October 16, 4:30 p.m.

Gary Margolis, Executive Director Emeritus, College Mental Health Services; Department of English and American Literatures, “Wyeth's Space: Poems in Response to the Paintings and Commentaries of Andrew Wyeth.”

Wednesday, October 30, 4:30 p.m.

Andrea Lloyd, Department of Biology and Dean of the Faculty, “The Evolution of the Liberal Arts at Middlebury College.”

Wednesday, November 13, 4:30 p.m.

Heather Richards-Rissetto, Department of Geography, “A 3D GIS Exploration of an Ancient Maya Kingdom.”

Wednesday, November 20, 4:30 p.m.

Michael Kraus, Department of Political Science, “Transitional Justice and the Politics of National Reconciliation in Post-communist Europe.”

Wednesday, January 15, 4:30 p.m.

Catherine Cabeen, Program in Dance, “Embracing the Immaterial:  Dancing with Nouveau Realism.”

Wednesday, February 19, 4:30 p.m.

Jonathan Miller-Lane, Program in Education Studies, “Shaping a Life of the Mind for Practice: An Inclusive Vision for a ‘Global’ Liberal Arts College.”

Wednesday, February 26, 4:30 p.m.

Greg Viterick, Department of Music, “Richard Wagner and the Revolution of Love.”

Wednesday, March 5, 4:30 p.m.

Darien Davis, Department of History “My Life with Stefan Zweig: An Exploration of the Oblique Diasporic Gaze and Scholarly Positionality.”

Wednesday, March 19, 4:30 p.m.

John Maluccio, Department of Economics, “Long-term Returns to Investment in Early Childhood.”

Wednesday, April 9, 4:30 p.m.

Joyce Mao, Department of History, “The Curious Case of Goldwater v. Carter: U.S.-China Relations and the Abnormal side of Normalization.”

Wednesday, April 16, 4:30 p.m.

Jessica Teets, Department of Political Science, “Civil Society Under Authoritarianism: The China Model.”


Refreshments will be served