Middlebury Schools Abroad

International Programs &
Off-campus Study Photo Contest

See more student photos »
 

2014-2015 School in Russia Calendar

Fall Semester 2014

 
Tuesday, September 2    Students depart the U.S.
Wednesday, September 3 All students arrive in Moscow. Group dinner at 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, September 4 Orientation in Moscow. Moscow students move in with host families. Irkutsk and Yaroslavl students travel from Moscow to host city.
Friday, September 5 On-site orientation
Monday, September 8 Russian language testing
Tuesday, September 9  Classes begin
Monday November 3 Tuesday, November 4  Unity Day holidays
Friday, December 19 Last day of program classes
Saturday, December 20 Earliest departure date for students not taking mainstream classes
By January 25  Students taking mainstream classes must stay in Russia until they have completed their course requirements.  Students will not know their exam date until they have registered for the mainstream course, so may wish to confirm their return flight after registration.  More and more university courses are offering exam dates before the holiday break in December.

*Note: Due to variations in the amount of time needed to convert single entry visas into multiple entry visas, we recommend that students wait until the end of the second week in Russia before making unchangeable plans during the fall break/Unity Day holidays.

Spring Semester 2015

 
Tuesday, February 3 Students depart the U.S.
Wednesday, February 4 Spring term students arrive in Moscow
Thursday, February 5 Orientation in Moscow
Friday, February 6 On-Site Orientation
Monday, February 9 Russian language testing
Tuesday, February 10  Classes begin
Monday, February 23 Defender of the Motherland Day
Sunday, March 8 International Women's Day*
Friday, May 1 Labor Day
Saturday, May 9 Victory Day*
Friday, May 22 Final day of Middlebury classes
Saturday, May 23  Earliest departure date for students not taking mainstream classes
By June 26 Students taking mainstream classes must stay in Russia until they have completed their course requirements.  Students will not know their exam date until they have registered for the mainstream course, so may wish to confirm their return flight after registration. More and more university courses are offering exam dates before the summer break in June.

*Note that in commemoration of International Women's Day and Victory Day, the nearest Friday or Monday will most likely be a holiday, but the Russian government has not yet announced the exact dates.

**All dates subject to change.

2013-2014 School in Russia Calendar

Fall Semester 2013

Tuesday, September 3 Students depart the U.S.
Wednesday, September 4 All students arrive in Moscow
Thursday, September 5 Orientation in Moscow
Friday, September 6 On-site orientation
Monday, September 9 Russian language testing
Tuesday, September 10 Classes begin
November 4-8 Unity Day/Fall break
Friday, December 20 Last day of program classes
Saturday, December 21 Earliest departure date for students not taking mainstream classes
By January 25 Students taking mainstream classes must stay in Russia until they have completed their course requirements.  Students will not know their exam date until they have registered for the mainstream course, so may wish to confirm their return flight after registration.  More and more university courses are offering exam dates before the holiday break in December.

*Note: Due to variations in the amount of time needed to convert single entry visas into multiple entry visas, we recommend that students wait until the end of the second week in Russia before making unchangeable plans during the fall break/Unity Day holidays. 

Spring Semester 2014

Tuesday, February 4 Students depart the U.S.
Wednesday, February 5 Spring term students arrive in Moscow
Thursday, February 6 Orientation in Moscow
Friday, February 7 On-Site Orientation
Monday, February 10 Russian language testing
Tuesday, February 11 Classes begin
May 1-May 11 Russian National Holidays
Friday, May 23 Final day of Middlebury classes
Saturday May 24, Earliest departure date for students not taking mainstream classes
Wednesday, June 25 Earliest departure date for students taking mainstream classes.  Students taking mainstream classes must stay in Russia until they have completed their course requirements.  Students will not know their exam date until they have registered for the mainstream course, so may wish to confirm their return flight after registration.