Dean's Certification

Information

Graduate schools and other professional licensing organizations, such as the American Bar Association, frequently require a dean's certification from an applicant's undergraduate institution. They wish both to confirm the dates of the applicant's attendance and graduation, and to learn if the applicant was ever the recipient of official College discipline. At Middlebury, the sanctions of disciplinary probation and suspension are considered official College discipline and are disclosed if requested on a dean's certification form.

Instructions

The Office of the Vice Present of Student Affairs responds to questions regarding disciplinary records on dean's certification forms. If you would like a dean's certification form processed, please include along with the certification form(s) a cover letter of request with the following information:

Your full name as you were registered at Middlebury College; 
Your Middlebury ID number or date of birth; 
Your Commons affiliation when you graduated; 
A phone number and/or an e-mail address where you can be
reached.
  • If you graduated within the last five years, please mail your request and accompanying forms to your former Commons Office.
  • If you graduated more than five years ago, please send your letter and accompanying forms to the Dean of the College Office.
  • For Summer Language School and Bread Loaf School of English inquiries please send your requests to the Registrar's Office.

All of these offices are listed below for your convenience. If you are unsure of your Commons affiliation, please contact Naomi Neff, Assistant to the Vice President for Student Affairs, at nneff@middlebury.edu.

Atwater Commons, Allen Hall

Debbie Cousino, Commons Coordinator
Email: cousino@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-3310
Fax: (802) 443-3319

Brainerd Commons, Stewart Hall

Leslie Mirling
Email: lmirling@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-3320
Fax: (802) 443-3329

Cook Commons, Battell North

Francesca Drexel, Commons Coordinator
Email: fdrexel@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-3330
Fax : (802) 443-3339

Ross Commons, Ross Commons Dining

Taunia Cantin, Commons Coordinator
Email: tcantin@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-3340
Fax: (802) 443-3349

Wonnacott Commons, Battell South

MariAnn Osborne, Commons Coordinator
Email: mosborne@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-3350
Fax: (802) 443-3359

Office of the Vice President Student Affairs, Old Chapel

Naomi Neff, Assistant to the Vice President of Student Affairs 
Email: nneff@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-5771 
Fax: (802) 443-2079

Registrar's Office, Forest Hall

Tania Bolduc, Associate Registrar for Language Schools
Email: tbolduc@middlebury.edu
Phone: (802) 443-5484
Fax: (802) 443-2030