Elected Committees and Positions 2016-17

Promotions Committee

The Promotions Committee advises the president on cases in which a faculty member is under review for promotion with tenure or to full professor. The Promotions Committee also serves as a body of review in termination for cause cases involving faculty members. The committee consists of three full-time full professors who are elected by the faculty. No more than two members of the committee may be from one division and no more than one from a department.

2016-17 Membership

M. Collaer to 2017
G. Herb to 2018 (on leave)
J. C. Davis to 2019
S. Moorti to 2019

Reappointments Committee

The Reappointments Committee advises the provost in all reappointment reviews.  This committee also conducts ten-year reviews. The committee consists of three full-time full professors who are elected by the faculty. No more than two members of the committee may be from one division and no more than one from a department.

2016-17 Membership

J. Tropp to 2018
P. Zupan to 2018
J. Munroe to 2019

Faculty Council

Faculty Council is the executive committee of the faculty. In this capacity it (1) coordinates faculty business; (2) represents the College faculty when working with the administration and/or Board of Trustees on all matters related to the College faculty; (3) acts as the Committee on Committees; and (4) in conjunction with other elected faculty committees, works with the administration and/or Board of Trustees on matters of shared interest related to the College, the Schools, and the Institute.

2016-17 Membership

J. McCallum to 2017
C. Wright to 2017
A. Draper to 2018
G. Gonzalez Zenteno to 2018
J. Maluccio to 2018
A. Briggs to 2019
A. Goodsell to 2019

The committee may be contacted, en masse, via e-mail facultycouncil@middlebury.edu.

Faculty Council Archives - Minutes of council meetings, tagged by content (restricted to members of the Middlebury Community).

Educational Affairs Committee

The EAC has two primary functions: to oversee the general direction of the College's curriculum and to make recommendations on staffing and the allocation of teaching resources. The EAC consists of five tenured members of the faculty, elected by the faculty. No more than two members of the committee may be from one division, and no more than one from a department.

2016-17 Membership

S. Gurland, chair (ex-officio)
J. Arndt to 2017
C. Wiebe to 2017
T. Van Order to 2017
I. Barrow to 2018
S. Watson to 2018

Inquiries for the EAC may be directed to Dean of Curriculum. The entire committee may be contacted via email at Educational Affairs Committee.

For more information about requesting staffing positions, teaching expectations, the course release policy, and EAC reports, please visit the EAC subpage.

Strategy Committee

The Strategy Committee represents the College faculty in long-range strategic planning with the administration and Board of Trustees. Though the committee is concerned primarily with the College, it will also represent the faculty in shared-governance discussions on matters of common interest to the College, the Schools, and the Institute. The committee is also charged with engaging the faculty, administration, and trustees on developments in high education (both nationally and globally), as they might affect Middlebury College.

2016-17 Membership

C. Klyza to 2018
A. Morsman to 2018
C. Faraone to 2018
M. Rohena-Madrazo to 2019

Resources Committee

The Resources Committee represents the College faculty in shared-governance discussions with the administration and Board of Trustees regarding Middlebury's financial sustainability, especially as it relates to the College. In addition to its concern with matters direcly related to the faculty, the Committee will also consider other financial matters that affect the integrity of Middlebury's academic program and, for example, the College's commitments to supporting students with financial need and insuring the diversity of the community.

2016-17 Membership

N. Muller to 2018
B. Peterson to 2018
A. Stanger to 2018
B. Matthias to 2019

Appeals Council

The Appeals Council hears petitions from faculty members who wish to contend a promotion review that results in non-reappointment. Appeals are granted only on grounds involving procedural errors that may have influenced the review committee and/or the provost, or violations of academic freedom. The Appeals Council consists of five tenured faculty members, elected by the faculty. No two members of the Council may be from the same department.

 2016-17 Membership

N. Graham to 2018
E. Oxfeld to 2018
N. Eppelsheimer to 2019
B. Millier to 2019
M. Olinick to 2019

Faculty Moderator

David Dorman, Mathematics (to 2018)

The Faculty Moderator presides over Faculty Meetings, participates with Faculty Council and with the administration in planning the agenda for faculty meetings, and encourages faculty to make suggestions for the agenda.

To write to the Faculty Moderator, click here.  The moderator will also maintain a webpage.

Committees Appointed by Faculty Council

Administration Committee

2016-17 Membership

T. Billings (co-chair)

V. Backus

C. Nunley

E. Proctor

Admissions Advisory Committee

2016-17 Membership

D. Brayton

M. Durst

R. Mitchell

S. Tan

Americans with Disabilities Act Committee

2016-17 Membership

G. Ernstrom

M. Nevins

Athletic Policy Committee

2016-17 Membership

P. Sommers (chair)

J. Chaplin

R. Moeller

E. Quinn

Center for Careers and Internships Advisory Committee

2016-17 Membership

E. Gebarowski-Shafer

J. Teets

Chemical Safety Committee (CSC)

2016-17 Membership

W. Amidon

V. Backus

J. Byers

M. Dash

M. Dube

M. Durst

College Street Children's Center Board

2016-17 Membership

J. Mao

Community Council

2016-17 Membership

M. Baker-Medard

J. Finley

W. Poulin-Deltour

Curriculum Committee

2016-17 Membership

T. Byker

E. Glikman

M. Higa

E. Sassin

Education Studies Committee

2016-17 Membership

C. Cooper (chair)

H. Klein

S. Shapiro

Environmental Council

D. Allen

M. Anderson

E. Foutch

A. Nurok

Faculty LIS Advisory Committee (FLAC)

2016-17 Membership

M. Newbury

L. Stein

M. Woodruff

Health Professions Committee

2016-17 Membership

R. Sandwick (chair)

A. Dean

M. Dube

E. Gong

T. Root

D. Silva

C. Star

S. Stroup

Honor Code Review

2016-17 Membership

L. Burnham

J. Larrabee

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Please contact Cathy Ekstrom (x3262) with any questions for this committee.

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

2016-17 Membership

K. Cronise

G. Spatafora

J. Ward

Institutional Review Board

2016-17 Membership

M. Kimble (chair)

L. Besser

E. Huet-Vaughn

I. Schiffer

M. Sheridan

B. Stevens

J. Ralph

Judicial Boards

2016-17 Membership

Academic Judicial Board

E. Bleich (co-chair)

C. Andrews

R. Greeley

E. Napier

E. Oxfeld

Community Judicial Board

D. Davis

B. Humbert

E. Vazquez

W. Waldron

Off-Campus Study/Programs Abroad

2016-17 Membership

J. Cason (chair)

S. Closser

I. Feldman

D. Miranda Hardy


J. Gamero de Coca to 2018

M. Olinick to 2017

Pre-Professional Committees

2016-17 Membership


J. McLeod


D. Scharstein


K. Callanan

- ad hoc Committee on Assessment

2016-17 Membership

A. Yuen (faculty chair)

T. Affolter

C. Anderson

E. Garcia

J. Schmitt

- ad hoc Honorary Degree Committee

2016-17 Membership

J. Holmes

R. Joo

- ad hoc Language Schools Faculty Advisory Committee

2016-17 Membership

M. Clinton

J. Paolo de Souza

S. Gumuscu

P. Saldarriaga

M. Ward

Academic Administration
Old Chapel
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753