The Commons System

The goals of the Commons System are to build a sense of community by creating more opportunities for meaningful relationships among students, faculty, and staff; to develop programs and events that enrich the Middlebury College experience; and to give students a greater voice in determining the nature of the intellectual, social, and residential life of the College.

Students are housed within five residential Commons: Atwater Commons (Allen, Atwater, Coffrin); Brainerd Commons (Stewart, Hepburn); Cook Commons (Battell North, Battell Center - Second Floor, Forest West, Pearsons); Ross Commons (Milliken, Hadley, Ross); Wonnacott Commons (Battell Center - First Floor, Battell South, Gifford).

Each Commons is led by one or two faculty heads, a dean, a commons coordinator and a Commons Council, which consists of students representing the various residence halls in the Commons. The Commons Council handles the affairs of the Commons, determines how the budget will be spent, and plans social, educational, and cultural events for the Commons. Council members are also responsible for disseminating information to the residents of the Commons.

All members of the College community are encouraged and welcomed to affiliate with a Commons.

Middlebury Admissions
Emma Willard House
131 South Main Street
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: 802-443-3000
Fax: 802-443-2056