COVID-19: Essential Information

Twilight Hall

Built in 1867 Twilight Hall is made of brick, with brownstone details of Italianate style. The building had heavy, bracket-supported cornices, a gable on each facade, and a mansaraded cupola. A fire in 1904 damaged it badly; it was rebuilt without the cupola, and with minor changes to the roof line.

Motivated by historic and community spirit, the College purchased the building from the Addison County School District in 1984 and undertook major renovations. On May 23, 1986, the restored building was rededicated and named Alexander Twilight Hall for the first black American to earn a college degree - Middlebury 1823.

Education Studies is pleased to occupy a corner of a building with such a rich history. Since a charter in 1797 this location has been dedicated to education, as a grammar school, College classrooms, College dorms, back to a grammar school (Gregg Humphrey was once the principal here -room 206 was his office) and again as College classrooms. Long may Twilight Hall serve the educational needs of its students.

Program in Education Studies

Twilight Hall
50 Franklin Street
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753

fax 802.443.6010