President of the College

Laurie L. Patton

A.B., Harvard University; Ph.D., University of Chicago

Middlebury, VT

See Office of the President

Laurie L. Patton, the 17th president of Middlebury, is an authority on South Asian history, culture, and religion. She is the author or editor of nine books and more than 50 articles in the field and has translated the classical Sanskrit text, the Bhagavad Gita. In addition, she has published two books of poetry. Patton has lectured widely on interfaith issues and religion and public life, and she has consulted with White House offices on faith-based initiatives, as well as on civic engagement. Patton earned a bachelor’s degree from Harvard University in 1983 and a PhD from the University of Chicago in 1991. Patton joined Middlebury in 2015 after serving for four years as dean of Duke University’s Trinity College of Arts and Sciences and as the Robert F. Durden Professor of Religion. From 1996 to 2011, Patton served on the faculty and administration at Emory University, where she was the Charles Howard Candler Professor of Religions and the inaugural director of Emory’s Center for Faculty Development and Excellence in the Office of the Provost. While at Emory, Patton served as chair of the Religion Department from 2000 to 2007, founded and coconvened the Religions and the Human Spirit Strategic Plan, and received the Emory Williams Award, Emory’s most prestigious honor for teaching, in 2005. From 2008 to 2011, she served as president of the American Society for the Study of Religion. Patton began her career at Bard College, where she was assistant professor of Asian religions from 1991 to 1996 and taught courses in ancient and contemporary India, comparative mythology, and theory of religions.

Charter Trustees

Dates indicate year first elected and year current term expires.

Joseph W. Brown ’90

Cornwall, VT

Leilani M. Brown ’93

(2015-2030) Vice Chair
A.B., M.P.A.
Charleston, SC

Kirtley Horton Cameron ’95

(2014–2029) Vice Chair
A.B., M.A.
Bedford, NY 

Parker Harris III ’89

San Francisco, CA

Lucienne M. Ide ’97

A.B., Ph.D.
Atlanta, GA

Catherine Lee ’92

A.B., M.I.A.
Bethesda, MD

George C. Lee II ’88

A.B., M.B.A.
San Francisco, CA

Caroline Sneath McBride ’75

A.B., M.B.A.
Middlebury, VT

Dennis D. Parker ’77

A.B., J.D.
Ossining, NY

Richard T. Scanlon ’93

Locust Valley, NY

Susan Scher ’86

(2006-2016, 2023–2028)
B.A., M.B.A.
New York, NY

Karen A. Stolley ’77

(2002–2007, 2014–2025) Vice Chair
A.B., Ph.D.
Atlanta, GA

William F. “Ted” Truscott ’83

(2014–2029) Appointed to a three-year term as Board Chair July 1, 2023–June 30, 2026
A.B., M.B.A.
Marblehead, MA

Term Trustees

Dates indicate year first elected and year current term expires.

Belinda L. Badcock

Greenwich, CT

Barbara Griffin Cole

A.B., M.Arch.
Hopewell, NJ

Lansing A. “Lanse” Davis ’01.5

Mill Valley, CA

Denver Edwards ’88

A.B., J.D.
New York, NY

Janine Feng ’92

A.B., M.B.A.
Hong Kong

Graham Goldsmith ’89

A.B., M.B.A.
Darien, CT

Carol L. Jones

(2011-2016, 2021–2026)
A.B., M.B.A.
Louisville, KY

Alice J. (A.J.) Murphy ’98

Bronxville, NY

Anne Davis Peterson ’85, P’14, ’19

Fairfax Station, VA

Suzanne Reider ’87

San Francisco, CA

Henry J. Simonds ’97

Pittsburgh, PA

Elizabeth Cromwell Speers ’86

A.B., M.A.
Concord, MA

Mark D. Spence ’98

A.B., M.A.
Dedham, MA

John E. Waldron ’91

New York, NY

Larry Yarbrough

M.A., M.Div., Ph.D.
Montgomery, AL

Kashif Zafar ’92

A.B., M.B.A.
New York, NY

Alumni Trustees

Dates indicate year first elected and year current term expires.

Koby Altman ’04

B.A., M.A.
Bratenahl, OH

Zachary Bourque ’01

Needham, MA

Shawn Ryan ’88

Los Angeles, CA

Robert V. “Bob” Sideli ’77

A.B., M.D.
Hastings-on-Hudson, NY

Danielle “Dani” Virtue ’82

North Palm Beach, FL

Recent Graduate Trustee

Kenshin Cho ’20

New York, NY


Dates indicate year of first election to Board of Trustees and effective date of emeritus status.

Dort A. Cameron III ’67
A.B., M.B.A. (1983, 1998)
Greenwich, CT     

James S. Davis ’66
A.B., L.H.D. (1984, 2007)
Boston, MA

Allan R. Dragone Jr. ’78
A.B., M.B.A. (2008, 2024)
Vero Beach, FL

Churchill G. Franklin ’71
A.B., L.H.D. (1989, 2005)
Cornwall, VT

Frederick M. Fritz ’68
A.B., M.B.A, L.H.D. (1999, 2015)
Hobe Sound, FL

Nancy Coffrin Furlong ’75
A.B. (1994, 2010)
Vero Beach, FL     

Claire Waterhouse Gargalli ’64
A.B., L.H.D. (1987, 2003)
Charlottesville, VA

Robert C. Graham Jr. ’63
A.B. (1992, 2008)
Stamford, CT     

Willard T. Jackson ’51
A.B., M.B.A., LL.D. (1973, 1993)
Cornwall, VT     

William H. Kieffer III ’64
A.B., L.H.D. (1992, 2008)
Boston, MA

Roxanne McCormick Leighton ’67
A.B. (1996, 2012)
Vero Beach, FL

John M. McCardell Jr.
A.B., Ph.D., L.H.D. (1991, 2005)
Beaufort, SC

C. Irving Meeker ’50
A.B., M.D. (1979, 1995)
Scarborough, ME

Patricia Judah Palmer ’57
A.B., L.H.D. (1982, 1997)
Needham, MA

Kimberly Collins Parizeau ’79
A.B., M.B.A. (2003, 2020)
Wellesley, MA

Elisabeth Robert ’78
A.B., M.B.A. (2004, 2020)
Charlotte, VT

Frank W. Sesno ’77
B.A. (1994, 2019)
Washington, D.C.

Deborah G. Thomas ’75
A.B., M.A., Ph.D., (2004, 2020)
Chapel Hill, NC

John R. Tormondsen ’82
A.B., M.B.A. (2002, 2017)
Stamford, CT

J. Edward (Ted) Virtue ’82
A.B. (2005, 2021)
North Palm Beach, FL

Marna C. Whittington
A.B., Ph.D., L.H.D (1999, 2017)
Yorklyn, DE

Linda Foster Whitton ‘80
A.B. (2004, 2020)
Weston, VT

Kendrick R. Wilson III
A.B., M.B.A. (1999, 2015)
Hobe Sound, FL