COVID-19: Essential Information

Scott A. Margolin '99 Lecture in Environmental Affairs

About the Scott A. Margolin '99 Lecture in Environmental Affairs

This annual lecture, like the Environmental Studies Program, takes an interdisciplinary approach to the natural environment and human interaction with it.

In 1998, the Environmental Affairs Lecture was named in honor of Scott A. Margolin, of the Middlebury College Class of 1999. In his one year here, Scott established himself as a dedicated student of Environmental Studies, a leader in Environmental Quality and other student affairs, and an outstanding writer. He lives in our memory.

Past Speakers:

2020-2021 AY - Liliana M. Dávalos, Professor, Department of Ecology and Evolution, Stony Brook University (video)

2019-2020 AY - Naomi Klein, award-winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author (video)

2018-2019 AY - Rochelle L. Johnson, Professor of English and Environmental Studies and Director of the Gibson Honors Program at the College of Idaho and Daegan Miller '02, writer, critic, and historian (video)

2017-2018 AY - Robin Bell, Palisades Geophysical Institute/Lamont Research Professor, Columbia University (video)

2016-2017 AY - Carolyn Finney, Professor of Geography at University of Kentucky (video)

2015-2016 AY - Traci Brynne Voyles, assistant professor of women’s and gender studies at Loyola Marymount University (video)

2015- Tyrone B. Hayes, Professor of Intergrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley

2014 - Kierán Suckling, Founder and Executive Director of the Center for Biological Diversity (video)

2013 - Rob Nixon, Rachel Carson & Elizabeth Ritzmann Professor of English, University of Wisconsin - Madison (video)

2012 - Jerome Nriagu, professor of Environmental Health Sciences, University of Michigan School of Public Health (video)

2011 - Antwi Akom, professor of Urban Sociology and Africana Studies, San Francisco State University

2010 - John Elder, professor of Environmental Studies and English and American Literature, Middlebury College (video)

2009 - Dr. P. Dee Boersma, Professor of Biology, University of Washington (video)

2008 - Gus Speth, Dean, Yale School of Forestry & Environmental Studies (video)

2007 - Barry Lopez, essayist and nature writer

2006 - Michael E. Mann, Director, Penn State Earth System Science Center (video)

2005 - Eileen Claussen, President, Pew Center on Global Climate Change

2004 - J. Baird Callicott, professor of philosophy, University of North Texas

2003 - Paul Ehrlich, Bing Professor of Population Studies, Stanford University

2002 - Michael Dombeck, Former Chief of the United States Forest Service

2001 - Lawrence Buell, English Professor, Harvard University

2000 - Reed Noss, conservation biologist

1999 - Michael MacCracken, US Global Change Research Program

1998 - Rick Bass, writer and activist

1997 - Joseph Bruchac, Abenaki storyteller

1996 - Steven Schneider, environmental scientist

1995 - David Orr, environmental educator

1994 - Terry Tempest Williams, writer

1993 - Walter Reid, environmental scientist

1992 - William Cronon, environmental historian

1991 - Scott Russell Sanders, writer

1990 - Norman Myers, environmental scientist

1989 - Madeleine Kunin, Governor of Vermont

Program in Environmental Studies

Franklin Environmental Center at Hillcrest
531 College Street
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753