COVID-19: Essential Information

Hairspray program


The Broadway Musical 

Book by                       Music by                      Lyrics by

Mark O’Donnell          Marc Shaiman              Scott Wittman

Thomas Meehan                                              Marc Shaiman

Based on the New Line Cinema film written and directed by John Waters

 Director                                   Douglas Anderson

Musical Director                      Carol Christensen

Choreography                          Alicia Evancho ‘12

                                                Sarah Lusche ‘13

Bandleader                              Timothy Guiles

Set Design                                Douglas Anderson

Lighting Design                        Matthew Stone

Costume Design                       Christine Han ‘12

Sound Design                          Ben Schiffer

Stage Manager                        Suzanne Weinstein

Produced throug a special arrangement with Music Theatre International.

Baltimore, 1962

There will be one 20-minute intermission


Tracy Turnblad                                    Nejla Calvo ‘12

Edna Turnblad                         Nathanial Rothrock ‘13

Link Larkin                              Kyle Drevline ‘12

Velma von Tussle                    Ele Woods ‘12

Amber von Tussle                   Shannon Fiedler ‘14

Penny Pingleton                       Alicia Evancho ‘12

Seaweed J. Stubbs                   Kwaku Acheampong ‘14

Motormouth Maybelle             Darryl Johnson ‘12

Little Inez                                DaVia Walker ‘12

Corny Collins                          Mike McCann ‘15

Wilbur                                     Nicholas Hemerling ‘14

Gym Teacher/Prison Matron    Emily Jacke ‘13

Prudy Pingleton                                   Nike Power ‘14

Harriman F. Spritzer                Algy Layden

Mr. Pinky                                 Thomas Scott ‘14

Principal                                  Michael Cunningham ‘15

The Dynamites                                    Priscilla Obinmah ‘15

Aminata Deme ‘15

DaVia Walker ‘12


Darkowaa Adu-kofi ‘12

Evan Auguste ‘14

Sarah Braithwaite ‘14

Aminata Deme ‘15

Morris Swaby Ebanks ‘14

Carllee James ‘13

Priscilla Obinmah ‘15

Mona Quarless ‘12

Andrew Snow ‘15

DaVia Walker ‘12

Napol Wills ‘14


Michael Cunningham ‘15

Hai Son Do ‘14

Amy Donahue ‘13

Samantha Gluck ‘14

Emily Jacke ‘13

Stephanie Machado ‘13

Chelsea Melone ‘15

Joelle Mendoza Etchart ‘15

Jason Mooty ‘12

Nike Power ‘14

Thomas Scott

Tyler Wood ‘15


Dante Francomano ‘15, bari, tenor, and alto saxophone,
     clarinet, flute

Catherine Hayes ‘12, flute, percussion

Nicole Hansen ‘12, cello

Annika Holmlund ‘15 , keyboard

Ben Goldstein ‘12, keyboard

York Kitajima ‘15, trumpet, flugelhorn

Hannah Rommer ‘08.5 , violin

Taylor Smith ‘12, tenor and alto saxophone, clarinet

Jake Woods, trombone

Peter Williams, bass

Rob Zollman, drummer


Technical Director                   Matthew Stone

Assistant Stage Manager          Dora Greven

Set Construction                      Matthew Stone

                                                Tom Noble

Scene Crew                              John Konopka

                                                Denise Goodnow

                                                Algy Layden

Costume Assistant                   Hannah Rommer ’08.5

Scene Painter                           John Konopka

Poster and props                      Debra Anderson

Lighting Assistant                    Matt Stanley

Light Board Operator               Zac Young

Follow Spot Operators             Adam Joselson

                                                Spencer Reed


An important note……

This performance is partially supported by the Jean
Berger Discretionary Music Initiative of Middlebury College.
This fund honors the contribution of Jean Berger (Professor of Music, Organist, and Director of the College [1953-1959]) to the musical life of Middlebury College from 1948 to 1959. It is established by the family of Alice P. Parsons P’56, Meredith Parsons Salisbury ’56, and Melanie W. Salisbury ’86, MA ’87, in the fall of 1997 to provide a fund to be used at the discretion of the chair of the music department to enrich the musical life of Middlebury College students. This fund is also given in memory of Chester G. Parsons P ’56.

* * * * * * *

Director’s Notes

Douglas Anderson

Executive Director, Town Hall Theater

As I sat watching the first few numbers in HAIRSPRAY on Broadway, I got what I call my “musical theater high”.  Admittedly, the show was a little cartoonish.  But oh my, the craft that went into it!  The stunning choreography, the brilliant pastiches of rock tunes from the 60’s, even the musical arrangements, with their hair-raising modulations and complex back-up singing – clearly, this show was put together by professionals working at the very top of their game.  HAIRSPRAY has a kind of old world craftsmanship that you don’t see much these days, and I settled back in my seat expecting a riotous good time.

But then, about 10 minutes in, the cast sang a line that surprised me so much that I literally let out a yelp in the crowded theater.  I won’t give away the moment here, but I was stunned to find this silly musical suddenly grappling with a serious issue.   I know I might not look it (!) but I grew up during the period of this musical, and to have these old political and musical conflicts resurface, in a silly musical no less, was equally shocking and satisfying.

So HAIRSPRAY turns out to be meaningful.  To place the grand old musical comedy at the service of something other than a love story, to sing and dance our way through our checkered past  – well, that’s just a little bit revolutionary, which matches up perfectly with the cultural and musical revolutions at the heart of HAIRSPRAY.


Middlebury College Department of Theatre, Middlebury College Department of Dance, Lyn DeGraff and Reprographics, the Middlebury Community Players, Mary Longey, and the many others who helped this show reach the stage.

For Middlebury College
Shannon Bohler-Small, Events and Administrative
             Coordinator, Mahaney Center for the Arts
Mark Christensen, Technical Director, Mahaney Arts Center

Concert Hall

Peter Hamlin, Music Department Chair

Liza Sacheli Lloyd, Director, Mahaney Center for the Arts

Deborah Young, Academic Coordinator, Music 


For Town Hall Theater

Douglas Anderson, Executive Director

Barbara Maloney, Executive Assistant

Matthew Stone, Technical Director

Lindsay Pontius, Education Director

Elinor Friml, Box Office Manager,

     Jackson Gallery Manager

Kendra Gratton, Box Office Assistant,

     Front of House Manager

Kory Laframboise, Facilities Manager

Deborah Laframboise, Accountant

Karen Lefkoe, Publicity

Holly Keeler Kelton, eNewsletter

Mary Longey, Stage Manager

Department of Music

Mahaney Center for the Arts
72 Porter Field Road
Middlebury College
Middlebury, VT 05753