Don Ballou

For more than 60 years, Don Ballou was very much involved in the development of the Mathematics Department of Middlebury College. His contribution to us was immense; he broadened the width and depth of the scope of the Mathematics Department, encouraged many students to pursue their passion in mathematics, and left us with many valuable books and thoughts that will surely last. Read more about Don Ballou.

Parker Prize

The Dr. Francis D. Parker ’39 Mathematics Prize is awarded each year to the graduating student with the best senior work in the Mathematics Department. The prize was established in 1993 with a gift from Professor Parker.

Francis Dunbar Parker (1918–2006) was a member of the Middlebury Class of 1939. He earned a master’s degree from Boston University in 1942 and a PhD from the Case Institute of Technology (now Case Western Reserve University) in 1952. He taught mathematics at Case, Clarkson University, University of Alaska, State University of New York at Buffalo, and, for many years, at  St. Lawrence University, from which he retired as Rutherford Professor of Mathematics. Dr. Parker also was a Fulbright Exchange professor at Plymouth Polytechnic in England and was a visiting scholar at the California State University Los Angeles. He served the Mathematical Association of America in several leadership positions.

Past Recipients

  • 2024: Ai Hattori and Xianzhi Wang
  • 2023: Jason Rickenbacher
  • 2022: Bryan Currie
  • 2021: Daniel Grubbs-Donovan
  • 2020: Michael Czekanski
  • 2019: Jack Parker
  • 2018: Sirawit “Blink” Woramongkhon
  • 2017: Noel Jean Eyman Antonisse
  • 2016: Jordan Daniel DuBeau
  • 2015: William Reed Palmer
  • 2014: Lindong Zhou
  • 2013: Alec Cooper and Aden Forrow
  • 2012: Ying “Daisy” Zhuo
  • 2011: Nicholas Tkach
  • 2010: Hallie Gammon and Shengen Zhai
  • 2009: Phuong Chi Le
  • 2008: Jeffrey Wehrwein
  • 2007: Anna Blasiak
  • 2006: Gregory C. Petrics and Siddarth Rajaram
  • 2005: Emily J. Berg
  • 2004: Jeffrey W. Koppernolle
  • 2003: Victor A. Dan and Jill E. Parsons
  • 2002: Jesse E. Johnson
  • 2001: Sorin Talamba
  • 2000: Darius Braziunas and Wei Su
  • 1999: Milda Darguzaite
  • 1998: Charles B. Donnellan and Irina Marinov
  • 1997: Dirk R. Hobman
  • 1996: David B. Wood II and Vikas Jhunjhunwala
  • 1995: Mark H. Montague
  • 1994: Angie Zhong

Perkins Award

The Perkins Award is given annually to a member of the Middlebury College Natural Sciences Division, alternating each year between mathematics and other departments in the sciences, and honors outstanding performance as a teacher.

Recent Mathematics Winners

  • 2023: Jennifer Crodelle
  • 2021: Alex Lyford
  • 2018: Priscilla Bremser
  • 2016: John R. Schmitt
  • 2014: William Peterson
  • 2012: Emily Proctor
  • 2010: Stephen Abbott