Each year, the Economics Department awards several prizes as well as thesis honors.


Christian A. Johnson Prize in Economics

Established in 1998 by the Christian A. Johnson Endeavor Foundation. Awarded to the student graduating with the highest grade point average in economics.

2023 Recipients: 
Benjamin F. Awtrey                                                                                                                               Tim Tian Hua                                                                                                                                   Martha Katherine Hyde                                                                                                                       Tyler Reid Little                                                                                                                             Benjamin Lewis Murray                                                                                                                   Samuel Robert Segal 

See Past Recipients.

D.K. Smith Economics Prize

Established in 2007 by his family and friends in memory of Professor D.K. Smith. Awarded to a student who writes the best senior thesis in the Economics Department.

2023 Recipients: Tim Hua and Laney Sullivan
See Past Recipients.

F.C. Dirks Prize in Economics

Established in 1985 by friends wishing to honor the internationally distinguished accomplishments of Dr. Frederick C. Dirks ’30 (retired former senior advisor with the International Monetary Fund) on the occasion of his 55th Reunion. This prize is awarded each year to a senior who, through academic achievement and activities pursued at Middlebury, has demonstrated high promise for leadership and success in economics and public service.

2023 Recipient: Masa Mori
See Past Recipients.

Harry M. Fife Memorial Prize

Established in 1950 in memory of Harry M. Fife, professor of economics, 1925–1950. Awarded to the senior who combines excellence in economics with contributions to the spirit of Middlebury through participation in extracurricular activities.

2023 Recipients: Eva Hendrikson and Firas Loan
See Past Recipients.

Thesis Honors

See the 2023 senior economics honors recipients.