icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar icon-check icon-close icon-compass icon-email icon-facebook icon-instagram icon-linkedin icon-map icon-play icon-plus icon-search icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube

The Leslie Eliason Excellence in Teaching Award is dedicated to the memory of Professor Leslie Eliason, who is recognized and remembered for her commitment to quality teaching and to her students. This annual award is generously sponsored by her good friends Karen and Christopher Payne. Students, faculty and staff submit nominations and a special selection committee of three faculty members, three students and one staff member makes the final selection. This year the selection committee had a very challenging choice to make, said Provost Amy Sands, because of an exceptionally strong pool of nominations.

There is no question that Professor Kardam reflects the qualities Professor Eliason valued the most — hard work, a passionate commitment to students and sound academic programming, and positive, collegial interactions and collaborations with her students and peers. Professor Kardam has worked hard to engage students in meaningful learning experiences and activities and to establish an interactive, dynamic learning environment for MIIS students, establishing a record of excellence in teaching and an ongoing commitment to providing our students the highest quality education possible. In particular, she has pursued a cross-cultural and humanistic approach to her teaching and mentoring of students, and has worked with countless students to ensure their success in both their academic and career objectives.

As a result of winning the 5th annual Leslie Eliason Excellence in Teaching Award, Professor Nuket Kardam will receive $10,000 to be used towards professional development, and will be recognized in an award ceremony later this spring.

For More Information

Jason Warburg

Eva Gudbergsdottir