icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar icon-check icon-close icon-compass icon-email icon-facebook icon-instagram icon-linkedin icon-map icon-play icon-plus icon-search icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube

In addition to their academic expertise, our language education faculty have experience in organizations such as the TESOL International Association, American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL), American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL), and the International Research Foundation for English Language Education.

They are experts in language education, curriculum development, language assessment, applied linguistics research, and language program administration in diverse settings (e.g., ESL, EFL, English for academic purposes, foreign language teaching, content-based language teaching). Several act as consultants to think tanks, international organizations, educational organizations, and universities involved in language education. They are dedicated to modeling effective pedagogy in their own teaching and actively engaged as academic and professional mentors to students and alumni.

Regular Faculty

Netta Avineri

Assistant Professor TESOL/TFL

Email: navineri@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6560
Office: McCone Building

Kathi Bailey

Professor

Email: kb@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4181
Office: McCone Building M208

Lynn Goldstein

Professor; Program Chair TESOL/TFL

Email: lynng@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4184
Office: McCone Building M221

John Hedgcock

Professor

Email: jhedgcoc@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4197
Office: McCone Building M115

Heekyeong Lee

Associate Professor

Email: hlee@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6427
Office: McCone Building M109

Jason Martel

Assistant Professor; Associate Director, Summer Intensive Language Program

Email: jmartel@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3547
Office: 400 Pacific Street D205

Deniz Ortactepe

Assistant Professor

Email: dortactepe@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4609
Office: McCone Building M129

Thor Sawin

Assistant Professor

Email: tsawin@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4110
Office: 400 Pacific Street D209

Adjunct Faculty

Patricia Szasz

Assistant Dean for Language and Professional Programs

Email: pszasz@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3501
Office: McGowan Building MG103B

Language Pedagogy Experts

Mahmoud Abdalla

Assistant Professor; Program Coordinator, Arabic Language Studies

Email: mabdalla@miis.edu
Tel: (802) 443-5230
Office: IIRC Building 7

Jinhuei Enya Dai

Professor; Program Coordinator, Chinese Language Studies

Email: jdai@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6570
Office: McCone Building M107

Gabriel Guillen

Assistant Professor; Summer Intensive Spanish Program Coordinator

Email: gabi@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3541
Office: 400 Pacific Street D207

Naoko Matsuo

Assistant Professor; Program Coordinator, Japanese Language Studies, and Language Studies Advisor

Email: nmatsuo@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3512
Office: McCone Building M222

Sabino Morera

Assistant Professor

Email: smorera@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6662
Office: McGowan Building MG200B

Pablo Oliva

Associate Professor; Program Coordinator, Spanish Language Studies

Email: poliva@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4173
Office: McCone Building M111

Faculty Emeritus

Peter Shaw

Faculty Emeritus

Email: peter.shaw@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6530
Office: McCone Building

Jean Turner

Professor Emerita

Email: jturner@miis.edu