In addition to their academic expertise, our language education faculty have experience in organizations such as the TESOL International Association, American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL), American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL), and the International Research Foundation for English Language Education.

They are experts in language education, curriculum development, language assessment, applied linguistics research, and language program administration in diverse settings (e.g., ESL, EFL, English for academic purposes, foreign language teaching, content-based language teaching). Several act as consultants to think tanks, international organizations, educational organizations, and universities involved in language education. They are dedicated to modeling effective pedagogy in their own teaching and actively engaged as academic and professional mentors to students and alumni.

Regular Faculty

Netta Avineri

Associate Professor TESOL/TFL, Intercultural Competence Committee Chair

Email: navineri@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6560
Office: McCone Building M227

Kathi Bailey

Professor, TESOL/TFL

Email: kb@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4181
Office: McCone Building M208

Renée Jourdenais

Professor

Email: rjourden@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4184
Office: McCone Building M207

Heekyeong Lee

Professor

Email: hlee@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6427
Office: McCone Building M109

Jason Martel

Associate Professor; Program Chair, TESOL/TFL

Email: jmartel@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3547
Office: 400 Pacific Street D205

Deniz Ortactepe

Associate Professor

Email: dortactepe@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4609
Office: Mc Gowan Building - MG202

Thor Sawin

Associate Professor

Email: tsawin@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4110
Office: 400 Pacific Street D209

Adjunct Faculty

Patricia Szasz

Associate Dean for Language and Professional Programs

Email: pszasz@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3501
Office: McGowan Building MG103B

Faculty Emeriti

Lynn Goldstein

Professor Emerita

Email: lynng@miis.edu

John Hedgcock

Professor Emeritus

Email: jhedgcoc@miis.edu

Jean Turner

Professor Emerita

Email: jturner@miis.edu

Language Pedagogy Experts

Mahmoud Abdalla

Associate Professor; Program Head, Arabic Language Studies

Email: mabdalla@miis.edu
Tel: (802) 443-5230
Office: IIRC Building 7

Jinhuei Enya Dai

Professor; Program Head, Chinese Language Studies

Email: jdai@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6570
Office: McCone Building M107

Gabriel Guillen

Associate Professor; Associate Director of Summer Intensive Language Program

Email: gabi@middlebury.edu
Tel: (831) 647-3085
Office: 400 Pacific Street D207

Sabino Morera

Assistant Professor; Program Head, Spanish Studies

Email: smorera@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-6662
Office: McGowan Building MG200B

Pablo Oliva

Associate Professor; Program Chair, Language Studies

Email: poliva@miis.edu
Tel: (831) 647-4173
Office: McCone Building M111